I Have a Problem With ‘Overrated’

I hear this a lot in comment sections of websites or on forums.  That book/movie is overrated.  I personally have a bit of a problem with that statement.

Something is overrated when it gets more attention or praise than it deserves.  I can see how this can be an issue if an indie author’s friends are all rating their book a 5.  Then it’s a valid argument.  But if it’s a very popular book or movie that is almost universally liked, how is it overrated?

If a book or movie has a high overall rating, it’s because most people liked or loved it.  The people who don’t like it say it’s overrated, as if they believe that the rating is far too high than it deserves to be.  Well, I don’t agree.  If most people love it, then it’s only fair to say that it should be rated highly.  It’s rated fairly.  Urban Dictionary says that people who say it’s overrated are resentful of people who love it.  I’d mostly agree.  Those people seem to be quite aggressive in their comments online, and love to argue with and insult those who love what they hate.  They seem obsessed with their dislike.

If you dislike something so much, why do you go out of your way to throw insults at people?  I’d like to hear from people who do that.  If you’re like that, can you explain why you do it?  I’m really curious about it.

4 thoughts on “I Have a Problem With ‘Overrated’”

  1. I am always curious about those folks as well. I don’t understand what pleasure lies in denigrating something that someone else is passionate about. I’m perfectly okay with someone disliking something I like, provided they can give reasons why this is so. But to just dislike something that is universally popular because it is universally popular is just sad.

    1. I agree. I don’t mind if they disagree with a review of mine, but I do mind it if they insult me because they disagree with me. Thankfully, that hasn’t happened yet.

  2. For me, saying that something is overrated is more of an indication about how I feel than an assessment of its rating. I’m getting at more of an I don’t agree with the raters, not so much of a Those people are wrong. But after reading this post I’m starting to think that it’s probably not exactly how it gets construed when I say it; it probably comes off really judgmental, as you suggest. But the bottom line is, I say this word without resentment toward those who like whatever. It’s about me, not them.

    1. Thanks for the comment. I’m pretty sure a lot of people are like you. Basically, you’re saying you feel something isn’t as good as other people think, or more precisely, you don’t like it as much as others. The people that make it a problem are those who continually insult those who like it, instead of focusing on saying why they themselves don’t like it. No need to insult others’ opinions, right?

      Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

