10 Questions with Baye McNeil

Welcome to my new regular series, 10 Questions.  It’s a series of brief 10 question interviews with authors I may or may not have read.  In this first installment, I’m honoured to have a fellow resident of Japan answer my questions.

Baye McNeil, known for his blog, Loco in Yokohama, his first book, Hi! My Name is Loco and I am a Racist, and his new upcoming book, Loco in Yokohama, lives not so far from me, and has a lot to say about his experience being a foreigner in Japan.  I recommend subscribing to him on Twitter, Facebook, Google +, and Pinterest. So, without further ado (I know, this is cliche), here’s the interview.

1. What’s your favourite colour?

Blue

2. What’s your favourite food? Do you like Marmite?

Lasagna. No, can’t say I do.

3. Which country would you most like to visit?

Tanzania

4. What genres do you like to read?

Biography, autobiography, sci-fi

5. If you were going to write a book outside your genre(s), which genre would you choose?

Sci-fi

6. Describe your writing environment, including room, desk, sounds, etc.

I generally write in a tiny cubicle in an Internet cafe.

7. If you could have dinner with any character (person if non-fiction) from any book, who would it be?

Grand Admiral Thrawn from the Heir to the Empire Star Wars books by Timothy Zahn…or maybe Hermione Granger from the Potter books.

8.  Do you write from experience or expert knowledge?

Both.

9. Do you ever read self-published books?

Yes.

10. I’m interested in fantasy, science fiction, history, and classics. Which author’s books would you recommend to me?

Anything by Timothy Zahn and you can’t lose.

Thank you, Baye!  I’d like to add a little here.  I do have Timothy Zahn’s first Star Wars book listed as ‘to buy’ on Goodreads, so I am quite interested. And Hermione was always my favourite from Harry Potter.  Also, I have finished reading Hi! My Name is Loco and I am a Racist, and a review will be coming soon.

I will have another interview next week, this time an author who likes dark fantasy and horror.

3 thoughts on “10 Questions with Baye McNeil”

  1. Thanks for having me as your inaugural interview subject, Jay Dee. I’m honored. Looking forward to reading your review of my first book. And a shameless plug, but my second book is due to be published September 30th, called: Loco in Yokohama. Hope you guys will check it out.

Leave a Reply

