Live-blogging Typhoon Phanfone – A Sudden End

Around my home, the rain suddenly ended. I was quite surprised. It’s warmer now, too. There’s blue sky to the west, which is a good sign. As for the flooding, I was in for a surprise. The first picture is next to my apartment. It’s usually about 4 metres down to water level. It’s now almost cresting. The Hikiji River, which I mentioned before, is also very high. More than halfway up to the street level. I’ve never seen the rivers like this before.

20141006-112312-40992338.jpg

20141006-112330-41010802.jpg

20141006-112501-41101760.jpg

Now, I’m waiting at the train station. All lines are stopped at the moment. Not sure when they’ll start.

16 thoughts on “Live-blogging Typhoon Phanfone – A Sudden End”

        1. Haha. Well, you won’t be happy to know that another typhoon is coming here early next week. It’s bigger and stronger. In fact, it’s the strongest tropical cyclone in the world this year.

            1. Well, I don’t want to be near a volcanic eruption, though Kilauea would be okay. I went through the big earthquake in 2011 in Japan. Absolutely massive amount of shaking, but it was quite the experience. And you know, I’m glad I was able to go through it. But keep the tsunami away from me.

  1. Thanks for the updates! Glad you’re ok and the worst has passed. I’m on my way to work now to see how all my customers are doing – I’ve got a lot of people in Japan right now!

Leave a Reply

