Authors Answer 11 – Genre Challenge

Many authors tend to stick with one or two genres.  They stay with what they know and they do it well.  But sometimes, authors may want to challenge another genre.  Try out something completely new.  Imagine a fantasy author tackling detective stories or a romance author challenging horror.  I wonder how that would turn out.

John_Wayne_-_1961Question 11: If you were going to write in a genre other than what you normally write, what would you like to try?

Elizabeth Rhodes

I would probably take a swing at writing something funny.  I’ve written scripts for a webcomic and had a lot of fun doing so, so I wouldn’t mind getting back into that.  But writing a script in general would be a break from the norm for me.

Linda G. Hill

This is Jay Dee.  Linda’s been a bit busy.  A popular blogger’s account was partially suspended, so she tried to help out.  Well, it was successful!  Great to see.  Anyway, if she can get an answer to me soon, I can put it up here as an edit.

Caren Rich

Full on epic fantasy.  Why?  Because I love it.  It is totally different than what I write.  (Southern mystery)  I would love to sit down and create a world, literally from the ground up.  I am amazed at the ability of writers to create a world straight from their imagination.

Jean Davis

I’d love to do a western. When I first took up writing seriously, I dabbled in westerns and sci-fi. Sci-fi won, but I still have that other story floating around in my head.

S. R. Carrillo

I would love to write a Western one day. Just a straight up cowboys-and-desert-towns-and-crooked-sheriffs kinda Western. I’m so clueless as to that time period, though, that I would need to submerge myself beneath research, and the extent of it would drown me with as much as I have on my plate already… Of course, I’d want it to be a queer Western, because there aren’t enough of those, and then I’d prolly get an itch to make the characters all POC and other kinds of awesome, and then at that point other genre tropes would just go flaming out the window…

D. T. Nova

Absurdism or nonsense. I’m not sure exactly how crazy I could get if I tried, but it might be interesting. And my mother thinks all science fiction is “weird” anyway, so I might as well write something really weird.

Amy Morris-Jones

I’m not sure why, but I kind of like the idea of trying out something in the neighborhood of the New Adult genre. I like the idea of fiction written for early 20 somethings, although I would like to write about those who didn’t go to college, as is the norm in that genre—shake things up a bit!

Tracey Lynn Tobin

I always thought that I would be pretty good at writing sci-fi, but the one time I tried to have a go at it it didn’t turn out very well…I think I wrote about three chapters, and there wasn’t much that was very “sci-fi-ish” about them. I would still like to write in the genre at some point in my career, but I think I would have to do a heck of a lot of research beforehand because apparently my brain doesn’t think as technologically as it once did.

Paul B. Spence

Thrillers in the style of Dean Koontz and Clive Barker.

H. Anthe Davis

I don’t think I’m clever enough to do a proper sci-fi or mystery, alas.  I might try psychological or paranormal horror, or pick up one of the magical-realism stories I wrote during college and try to turn that into a novel.  Or maybe do a nerdy slice-of-life tale, probably YA level.  I could handle that.

Jay Dee Archer

I think I would like to try historical fiction.  It’s the opposite of what I’m writing now, which is science fiction.  But it has similarities to the other genre I like to write, fantasy.  I enjoy history, and I’d love to explore life in various times of history.

How about you?

If you write, what other genre would you like to try?  Or if you don’t write, what would you like to try writing? Leave your answers in the comments below.

9 thoughts on “Authors Answer 11 – Genre Challenge”

  1. I’ve already got mine in the works. The first two, already published, and the latest that I’m working on, are Christian short stories. The next one I want to do, under my pseudonym Maggie Mahal (to keep the two types separate) will be a collection of science fiction, “The Bartenders’ Tales”, ranging from alien pirates to werewolf bikers. I have fantasy lined up, too. I also have a series of romances about siblings who became music stars with a secret past. I’m going to be writing like I read – and I, too, read encyclopedias for fun.

  2. Reblogged this on The War of Memory Project and commented:
    If genre mashups count on this one, I actually have some sci-fantasy and fantasy-western in the future of my fantasy world, and another blogger got me thinking about a medical mystery/fantasy combo. But as you can probably tell, it’s difficult for me to get away from fantasy.

Leave a Reply

