Blog Name Change

I’ve decided to change the name of this blog, but I’d like your input. I have four names in mind.

Sausages and Cream

Spatula Dreams

Denizens of the Palaeozoic

Ugly Bags of Mostly Water

I had another in mind, but it might be too offensive to some people. But you may consider it.

Shut Up, Wesley

So, what do you think? Which do you like?

The Artist

It’s time for the A to Z Challenge to begin.  My challenge is to write flash fiction for each letter of the alphabet, focusing on the profession of the point of view character.  Moreover, each story will take place in my fictional world of Ariadne.  Not only that, each story will be linked in some way, though they may not have a strong link.  And finally, I’ll be drawing sketches for each post.  I’m feeling ambitious.  So, please enjoy the stories as they unfold every day.

The Artist

Ariadne

The plains west of the Takahashi Mountains

Tenth day, third month, first year after colonisation, Ariadne Era (3/10/01 AE)

The fog obscured her view. She knew this was the place. The place where she saw the anomalous green shape in the satellite image. The sun was rising from its slumber. The settlement she left behind slept still. She sat down on the hillside next to the hoverjet. Patience. The reward would be great she knew.

Little by little the fog lifted. She saw the valley floor appear, a small river running through it. The feathergrass rippled in the breeze. A shape appeared before her, but she couldn’t tell how far it was from her.

A small forest they told me. You’re crazy to go out there for a simple forest, they said. Sheila, you’ll be disappointed, they said. No, I don’t think I will be.

Sheila smiled as the shape resolved. A tree. A single tree. But how big was it? It towered over the surrounding plain. The straight trunk rose into the sky, topped by a skeletal mesh of branches and a green canopy.

She stared at it. It has a halo. A cloud ring encircled the top of the tree. Just how tall is this thing?

Sheila took out a sketchpad and pencil and started drawing. The sunlight shone through the branches of the tree as it rose over the mountain backdrop.

They’ll never believe this. That tree must be over a kilometre tall.

20150401-095629-35789522.jpg
Cloud Tree

 

Month in Review – March 2015

March had a bit of a rebound from the previous month, going strongly in the first half of the month, then slowing down as I caught a cold.  I didn’t post as much, but still had more views than February.  There are now 823 followers, an increase of 46.

March Stats

March started out with a bang, but slowed down in the second half.  However, it maintained an average of more than 100 views per day for the third month in a row. 21 out of 31 days reached 100 views.  The busiest day was March 3rd with 148 views.  There were 3,315 views in the month, making it the sixth month in a row with more than 2,000 views, and now the second time it passed 3,000.  The total views at the end of March was 35,670. There were 64 posts, bringing the total to 931.

The month ended with 5,651 comments, meaning there were a whopping 677 comments in March.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,995 views)
  2. Canada (462 views)
  3. United Kingdom (189 views)
  4. Japan (109 views)
  5. New Zealand (60 views)
  6. Australia (55 views)
  7. Norway (55 views)
  8. India (36 views)
  9. Singapore (32 views)
  10. South Africa (26 views)

Top Posts

The top 5 most popular posts made in March were:

  1. Which Fantasy Series Should I Read? (67 views)
  2. The Tohoku Earthquake Four Years Later (63 views)
  3. I Am One, but Have Been Many (53 views)
  4. Authors Answer 18 – Rewriting a Famous Ending (44 views)
  5. Authors Answer 21 – The Ultimate Goal (41 views)

My most popular post written before March was again INTJ – An Analysis of My Personality with a total of an incredible 745 views. Most popular ever in a month, yet again.  This post is just going crazy.

Posts I think didn’t get read enough (this means you should read them!):

Reviews

I got one review up this month, but I recently finished two other books, so those reviews are coming soon.  Here is March’s review:

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 2,580 followers, which is an increase of 72.  I follow 2,555, which is up by 67. I finished with 6,757 tweets, with 119 coming in March.

On YouTube, I got only 1 video up in March..  I have 38 subscribers, a decrease of 1.  The month ended with 7,534 views, which is a small increase of 140. I need to get more videos done.

Looking Ahead to April

It’ll be an interesting month, since I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge, and this promises to bring more traffic to the blog.  We’ll see how that goes.

There will definitely be 2 reviews coming soon, and maybe a third later in the month.  I just started reading a very long book, which will take quite some time to finish.

Along with the A to Z Challenge, I’ll be doing some worldbuilding.  In fact, some of the stories I write for the challenge involve some worldbuilding, as I’m revealing bits of Ariadne.

Writing should pick up a bit, since I’ll have double the free time I’ve had in a long time.  I would also expect an increase in the number of posts again, probably more than 70 total.  And that should bring this blog to 1,000 total posts by the end of the month.

April will be a busy month.