The Doctor

It’s time for the letter D in the A to Z Challenge.  I didn’t have time to do a sketch today, unfortunately.  But here’s the story.

The Doctor

Ariadne

New Athens

Fifteenth day, third month, first year after colonisation, Ariadne Era (3/15/01 AE)

Doctor Desmond Carson exhaled as he looked at the hand before him, then at the white walls around him. He shook his head and looked at Cam.

“I hope you’re not working on the hospital project,” he said.

“No, I work with wood, not concrete buildings,” Cam said. “Why?”

“Oh, no reason.” The doctor looked at Cam’s thumb. “Hmm. And how exactly did this happen?”

“Well, you know that massive tree they found the other day?”

“No, can’t say I have.”

“Well, this tree is over a kilometre tall and the wood is extremely hard. It’s harder than concrete. I tried putting a nail through it, but all it did was flatten the nail. It was the chisel that did this to me.”

“That doesn’t look like a chisel injury,” said Doctor Carson.

“I mean when I used the hammer on the chisel, the chisel slipped and the hammer hit my thumb. I also slammed my hand on that block of wood really hard.” Cam smiled. A guilty smile, the doctor thought. “So, how’s my hand?”

“Well, it looks like it’s just bruised. I’d like to check the bones, though. It’s about time for your bone density checkup anyway.”

“Oh, I see. I haven’t been having any trouble with my bones, as far as I know.”

“Well, it takes a while to increase bone density after living for years in low gravity. Mars wasn’t good for our bodies. You need to exercise, but not high impact. Your job keeps you moving a lot, so it helps, but you have to be more careful. It’s far easier for you to break bones.”

“Got it, doctor.”

“Now let’s look at your hand.”

Cam stretched out his arm. He winced as the doctor touched his thumb.

Life in Japan

In nine days, it’ll be my tenth anniversary of coming to Japan. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long. It doesn’t feel like I’ve been here that long.

In honour of my anniversary, I’d like to start a weekly Q & A about living in Japan. So, what I’d like you to do is ask me a question (or questions) about life in Japan, and I’ll answer one a week. If you have questions, please ask them in the comments below.