Cold!

Look at this.

20150408-221259-79979019.jpg

These were the temperatures today. That’s what we see in January, not April. Two days ago, it was 23 degrees. Beautiful and warm. But winter returned. It even snowed in some places.

I know what some people will say. “See? Global warming doesn’t exist! Climate change is a liberal conspiracy!” Give me a break. This is local weather, not global climate. The evidence shows the world is warming. Climate change exists, and it’s giving us more than just warmer temperatures. It’s giving us more extreme weather. Extreme cold, extreme rain, extreme drought, extreme storms. That is the reality of climate change.

The Geneticist

The seventh letter of the alphabet is G. And that’s today’s letter for the A to Z Challenge.  This story features an already well-known character from Journey to Ariadne and someone who will be an important character for the series in general.

The Geneticist

Ariadne

New Athens

Eleventh day, fourth month, first year after colonisation, Ariadne Era (4/11/01 AE)

Patricia Knight stood and smiled as Paolo Fernandes entered her office.

“Hello, Paolo. Good to see you,” she said.

“Always great to see you. You seem to be doing well,” said Paolo. “I’d like to congratulate you on your success with the crops. This is extremely important for us.”

“Thanks. We haven’t been able to understand why the carrots haven’t been growing as expected, but we I hope it’ll be figured out soon. Something in the soil must be affecting it. Everything else seems to be going well. We finally have corn.”

“That’s wonderful. But my visit today isn’t about the crops. I’d like to speak with you about your request. The Kolonia Parliament and I have decided to approve your request to establish a university.” Paolo smiled.

Patricia clapped her hands and grinned. “Oh, thank you. That’s wonderful to hear. Now we can centralise all the labs. It’ll be so much easier to coordinate everything.”

“Are you planning to be in charge of the university?”

“Nothing planned yet. My colleagues and I need to talk about planning it first,” she said. A wave of nausea hit her and she leaned onto her desk. “Oh, not now.”

“Patricia? Are you okay?” Paolo went around the desk and reached his arm around her shoulders.

“Sorry.” She sat down as the feeling subsided. “I’m fine. It’s just that I found out some big news last week.”

“What is it?”

“I’m pregnant,” she said as she smiled to Paolo.

“That is incredible news,” he said. “When do you expect the baby to be born?”

“We’re due the end of the eleventh month.”

“As far as I know, you’re lucky number seven. Seventh pregnancy I’ve heard of.”

“We’re actually the fourth, but that’s not important. Just doing what we can to grow our world.”