The Irrigation Engineer

Moving on to the letter I in the A to Z Challenge, I introduce an intelligent character to counter a naive one.  Enjoy.

The Irrigation Engineer

Ariadne

New Athens

Thirteenth day, fifth month, first year after colonisation, Ariadne Era (5/13/01 AE)

Sanjay Thakur heard him before he saw him. The footsteps swished through the grass behind him. He turned to see a familiar face.

“Hi Luc. What brings you out here?” said Sanjay.

“I have a proposal for you,” said Luc.

“What is it?”

Luc hefted a block of wood. “This. You know that tree they found a couple months ago? This is a piece of it.”

“Right, I’ve seen a block before.” Sanjay understood what Luc’s intentions were. He’d seen the wood before. He held it in his hands and tried to work out how it could be used in irrigation.

“Well, I think it could benefit your business,”

“Luc, I’ve already gone through how I could use this wood, and it’s just too difficult to cut, shape, or build with. It’s not particularly useful for irrigation. We don’t use stone aqueducts anymore, we use metal pipes. I don’t need that. I don’t run a business, I design irrigation systems for the colony.”

“Together, we could start a very lucrative business. Irrigation systems are needed, and with this wood, we’d have the best building material.”

Is he as thick as that wood? Sanjay thought. “Not sure how you expect to use that wood, but it’s not even allowed. Haven’t you heard? Harvesting that tree is banned. It’s one-of-a-kind.”

“I’m sure I can convince a few people to change the law,” said Luc.

Confidence. He has a lot of it. Too bad it’s misguided. Sanjay turned around and waved. “Goodbye, Luc. Good luck. You have no clue.”

Leave a Reply

