Writing Is Coming Easily

It’s very strange. Ever since I started the A to Z Challenge, I’ve found it remarkably easy to sit down at my computer and write between 200 and 400 words in 15 minutes everyday. I do little planning, other than run through the idea in my head, then type it all out. It’s never the same. But I feel satisfied with what I’ve written.

The future installments of the challenge have not been planned much. I have ideas for up to R, and one for T. I have no idea how I’ll end this story. However, I have basic ideas about parts M through R. But even that far ahead, nothing is certain. I write this without a clear idea of where it’s going. And I like that.

I’d like to carry this over into my writing of Journey to Ariadne. Of course, I’ll have far more planning to do, because I have a very clear story to write. But what I want to carry over is my ease of writing and the flow of words in the story. And every day. I think I can do it.

The Librarian

We’re almost at the halfway point of the A to Z Challenge.  We’re now at the letter L.  Enjoy!

The Librarian

Ariadne

New Athens

Twenty-second day, eighth month, first year after colonisation, Ariadne Era (8/22/01 AE)

Spartan and square, the library served as an information repository and an educational space for the children and teenagers that traveled to Ariadne. Terminals lined two of the walls and an information desk occupied the centre of the room. It wasn’t beautiful, but it was functional. It was also temporary. That’s what Lindsey Pham hoped. The librarian of Ariadne longed for a beautiful building filled with books. Not files in a computer system, but actual printed books.

She wiped the terminals for the second time, waiting for someone to come in. She watched the door every five or ten minutes. It was quiet. She removed a fingerprint from the screen when she heard the door open. She looked up and saw a young man approaching her.

“Welcome,” she said. “What can I do for you?”

“I’d like some information,” said Luc Primeaux.

“The terminals here are available for you to browse the books electronically,” she said, sweeping her arm toward the row of screens.

“I’m not looking for a book. I’d like to see the Colony Charter.”

“You can read that anywhere. If you have a tablet at home, you can just access it from there.”

“No, you don’t understand,” he said, shaking his head. “I need to see the original copy.”

“We have no original copies of anything here. You’ll want to go to the Governor’s office for that.”

“They wouldn’t let me see it, would they?”

“They might, but I think it’s being protected as a historic document anyway. The electronic copy is exactly the same.”

“Right. I’d also like some books about law. Specifically constitutional law related to Earth and Mars.”

“Not sure how that would help you,” said Lindsey.

“I’m wondering how to apply to change the charter.”

Lindsey stared at him. She shook her head and said, “I don’t think I quite understand you. You want to change the charter?”

“Yes, is it that difficult to understand?”

“I don’t think you understand what the charter is. It’s not something you can just petition to change. It was agreed upon by all members of the colony before arriving here. And besides, Earth and Mars law mean nothing here. We’re under completely separate laws. Whatever you’re trying to do won’t work.”

“I guess I’ll get no help here. Thanks anyway,” he said and left.

Lindsey went to the information desk and picked up her tablet. She began tapping a message. To Governor Paolo Fernandes…