Living in Japan: Favourite Thing

It’s now April 20th, one year from our big move to Canada.  And in honour of that, Sierra has given me one of the most difficult questions to answer.  Thank you very much! Of course, if you have any questions, please post them on the original post here.

S. R. Carrillo asked this whopper of a question:

What’s your favorite part about living in Japan?

Hasedera in Kamakura
Hasedera in Kamakura

Well, Sierra, this is a rather difficult question to answer because I love so much about Japan.  However, I would have to say that one of my favourite things to do is sightseeing.  In particular, old temples and shrines.  I love exploring different places.  The area i live in is so rich in history and historic sites that I haven’t seen them all.  And I lived in Kamakura, one of Japan’s old capitals.  I’ve seen the major sites, but I haven’t gone to the lesser-known places.

Daibutsu (the Great Buddha) in Kamakura's Kotokuin temple.
Daibutsu (the Great Buddha) in Kamakura’s Kotokuin temple.

Some other things that are worth mentioning are the train system, which makes it incredibly convenient to get around, as well as the food.  I love sushi.  And my view of Mt. Fuji is quite incredible, too.

20150111-002359-1439802.jpgSo, if you have any questions, please go to this post and leave your questions in the comments.

8 thoughts on “Living in Japan: Favourite Thing”

  1. That’s awesome! When I actually lived in Europe, a very old continent with tons of history, I took it for granted, so now sightseeing is one of my favorite things to do. I look forward to the day I get to gaze at Japan and all its historical significance. :]!

    1. When we move to Canada next year, I’m definitely going sightseeing a lot. My wife actually wants to visit a lot of small towns and go on road trips. That sounds wonderful.

      1. That’s awesome! I’ve always felt there’s no better way to gain an appreciation of your home (or anything else commonplace to us) than through the novelty of a newcomer’s viewpoint. :]

Leave a Reply

