Month in Review – May 2015

I was looking to May to show some recovery in the stats, and that’s what it gave me. I made two posts a day exactly in May, with no extras on any day. That’s a first for me. But despite that, the number of visitors increased from the previous month. There are now 918 followers, an increase of 49.

May Stats

May didn’t start out very promising, but over the weeks, there was a steady improvement. Each subsequent week was better than the previous one. The average was back over 100 views per day. 19 out of 31 days reached 100, which is a big improvement. The busiest day was May 11th with 165 views. There were 3,216 views in May, the 8th in a row to achieve 2,000 and the third time it went over 3,000. The total views at the end of May was 41,704. There were 62 posts in May bringing the total to 1,055.

The month ended with 6,791 comments, meaning that 599 came in May.

The top 10 countries were:

  1. United States (1,801 views)
  2. Canada (349 views)
  3. Japan (249 views)
  4. United Kingdom (234 views)
  5. Norway (51 views)
  6. India (49 views)
  7. Germany (41 views)
  8. France (40 views)
  9. Australia (36 views)
  10. Singapore (19 views)

Top Posts

The top 5 (actually 6) most popular posts in the month of May are:

  1. 10 Things I Will Miss About Japan (81 views)
  2. My Daughter Is Mixed Race. What If… (69 views)
  3. Life in Japan: Raising a Kid (59 views)
  4. I’m Not Who You Thought I Was (53 views)
  5. Authors Answer 28 – Publishing Paths (50 views)
  6. Parenting While Male? You’re Incapable (50 views)

My most popular post written before May was my always popular INTJ – An Analysis of My Personality with 376 views. This is down again.

I really think you should check out these posts. They need more recognition:

Reviews

I got a couple reviews up this month, so I’m all caught up now. Go read them now!

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 2,663 followers, which is an increase of 51.  I follow 2,652, which is up by 52. I finished with 6,970 tweets, with 122 coming in May.

On YouTube, I got only 1 video up in May.  I have 37 subscribers, which is unchanged.  The month ended with 7,839 views, which is a small increase of 171. That’s an improvement, but I’d like to make more videos.

Looking Ahead to June

With the retirement of Amy Morris-Jones in Authors Answer, three new people have joined, bringing us to a total of 13, including me. We’ll be looking at some fundamentals this month, so I hope to see some interest in it.

Also, now that my wife’s visa application is completely finished and sent, I’ll be able to relax more and concentrate more on the blog and writing. Expect more posts this month, including worldbuilding and some Encyclopedia entries. I wouldn’t expect any book reviews, though. The ones I’m reading now are very long. They’ll take me a while, unless I start reading a lot at night.

There will be a lot more to look forward to in June. I’m looking forward to it!

2 thoughts on “Month in Review – May 2015”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.