The HarsH ReaLiTy (another one bites the dust)

When I saw this in my reader, I was surprised, yet not surprised. Jason Cushman, aka Opinionated Man, has closed down his blog, HarsH ReaLiTy. I read frequently, but didn’t comment as much as I should have. But when I did, he always responded, and he did so with both a wonderful sense of humour and tons of helpfulness. You see, he was actually quite a generous person, helping out other bloggers become better bloggers. Many people loved his blog, and there were those who hated it. Whatever his reasons are for closing down his blog, I wish him luck. I hope to see him around the blogosphere again. Please read what Linda G. Hill has said about him. Lots of people have commented there.

Linda G. Hill

So soon on the heels of the demise of the WordPress site “Mindful Digressions,” hosted by the amazing Doobster, comes the closure of HarsH ReaLiTy, brainchild of our beloved Opinionated Man, Jason Chandler Cushman.

I met Jason shortly after I started writing here on Life in Progress – I commented on one of his posts and was flabbergasted when he responded. From that day forward I knew what it took to gain a following, and quickly learned that there is a community at WordPress – one that is supportive, caring, and friendly. I thought about deleting my post “Save HarsH ReaLiTy,” but I think I’ll keep it open – it illustrates more than anything I’ve seen so far what a fantastic place we have here. You can view it here: http://lindaghill.com/2015/01/14/save-harsh-reality/ Most of all, read the comments. They are inspiring and heartwarming both.

Belinda at Idiot Writing – https://idiotwriting.wordpress.com/ – and…

View original post 216 more words

The Search for Authentic Japanese Food in Canada

Living in Japan, I’ve enjoyed a lot of Japanese food.  Of course, it is authentic.  However, my family will be moving to Canada next year, and we’ll have cravings for Japanese food.  Real Japanese food.

There are a lot of Japanese restaurants in Edmonton, but are they truly authentic?  I can safely say that Edo Japan is not authentic. Doesn’t even seem Japanese to me. Japanese Village had two different menus last time I was there, a teppan menu and traditional menu.  The teppan menu was French and Japanese fusion with a lot of things that weren’t Japanese at all.  The traditional menu seems to be much more Japanese. But things seem to have changed since I was last there. And then there’s Izakaya Tomo. My wife and I looked at the menu, and we found that the owner is Japanese, and a lot of the menu is quite authentic.  We’re very interested in trying it out.

So, what I’ve decided to do is a little project where we eat at every Japanese restaurant in Edmonton, and anywhere else we go. We’ll check out the authenticity of the food, and I’ll write blog posts about each place.  I won’t only write about the authenticity, but also say whether the food is good or not.  That’s more important, I think, but for anyone who wants to try out truly Japanese cuisine, it’ll be a very useful resource.