My Last Six Months in Japan

It’s September 30. It’s exactly six months until we leave Japan and go to Canada. I’ve been in Japan for more than ten years. And soon, it’s coming to an end.

How do you think I feel? Can you imagine what it’s like to leave a country you’ve lived in for more than a decade and return to your home country? I’m still trying to figure out my feelings. They’re totally mixed. I will miss a lot, I have some regrets, but it will be great to see my family again. I’ll have to adapt to life in Canada again. That might not be so easy. But we’ll see.

I’ll be posting a video about this later on. I talk about my biggest regret and what my plans are. So, check back later.

4 thoughts on “My Last Six Months in Japan”

  1. I’ve lived in Spain for 9 years but I still go back to the UK regularly as it’s only a stone’s throw away. That means I’m still very much in touch with home. I imagine that is more difficult for a Canadian in Japan. You always have to prepare yourself for reverse culture shock and of course, the weird sensation that nobody back home is all that interested in your amazing adventures over the past few years.

    1. I think I’ll document my reverse culture shock. That may be interesting to some people who are planning to move back to their home country. I know one guy here in Japan who’s planning to move back to Canada, as well. He said he’ll be following our immigration/moving story.

  2. When I returned to France after 7 years in the US, I think I could never adapt back (even though while in the US, I returned to France at least once a year, sometimes twice).
    Home (as in “my hometown”) felt just strange.
    I kinda always had this quote from Lord of the Rings in the back of my mind “How do you pick up the threads of an old life? How do you go on, when in your heart you begin to understand… there is no going back? ”

    So I moved to Paris, but I hated it… And then, here I am, in Japan.

    I love many things about France, but I feel that I just can’t leave there anymore…

    Now, everyone as a different experience of returning home and of reverse culture shock.

Leave a Reply

