High School Reunions

My twenty year high school reunion is happening this weekend at a golf course I used to work at. It’s on the other side of the world. It’s just six months too early. I would have loved to have gone.

People change, and I’m quite interested in seeing how people change. A lot of the people going to the reunion I’m in touch with over Facebook. After we move to Canada, I’m hoping to meet up with a few of them, catch up, actually talk with our mouths using our vocal chords to make sound. That would be quite the novelty. Facebook is great, but there’s nothing better than seeing old friends, and even old acquaintances, in person.

I wonder how much they think I’ve changed. I used to be this skinny, shy, quiet, geeky nerd. You know the type, they’re always in those high school movies. Well, except I wore a t-shirt and jeans, and never wore glasses. I was into Star Trek. I was painfully shy about dating, so never went to the prom. If I went to school with you, do you remember that’s the way I was?

How have I changed? Well, since I can’t attend the reunion, I’ll tell you. I’ve filled out a bit, though I guess you could still say I’m thin. I’m not shy anymore. I’m still somewhat quiet, unless I get into a conversation with you. Geeky nerd? Yes! I still am. But I’m also very active outdoors, often walking very long distances, hiking, and doing a lot of nature and urban photography. I still wear a t-shirt and jeans, but I also wear a suit to work. Still don’t wear glasses. I’m also still into Star Trek, but haven’t really watched it in quite some time. I don’t need to date, since I’m married, and I have a three-year-old daughter.

So, how are you doing? Who wants to meet up for lunch or drinks or something next year? I know I’m looking forward to it. And I hope there’s a 25 year reunion. I’ll be there!

Leave a Reply

