Ask the Readers – When Did You Start Liking Reading?

Last month, I asked for you to ask some questions that we can ask the readers. Here is the fourth question. Again, it’s from Solveig. First, I’ll answer the question, then it’s your turn.

Did you like reading as a child or did you discover reading as an adult?

I started off quite early. I was reading at a very young age, and around seven or eight years old, I got into reading science books and encyclopedias (hence the name of this blog). I may be unusual in that sense.

As I grew older, I started to discover novels. The first time I really enjoyed reading a novel wasn’t until I was thirteen, when we read The Hobbit in school.  I then read Jurassic Park on my own, and enjoyed it thoroughly. But there were a few books in between that we read in school that I didn’t particularly enjoy at the time. However, I did like Shakespeare.

In university, I rediscovered fantasy and science fiction, and began reading Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series and Terry Brooks’ Shannara series. I haven’t stopped reading since then.

How about you?

When did you discover that you liked reading? Let us know in the comments below.

15 thoughts on “Ask the Readers – When Did You Start Liking Reading?”

  1. Apparently I memorized The Night Before Christmas at age two, and refused to let go of books at any point afterward. I dimly remember being at a Girl Scouts gathering with my mom, and she was doing a crafts project with the other girls while I was sitting under the table with a book. Can’t stop won’t stop.

  2. Mom says I had a Fisher Price reader… it was a book that had little metallic discs on them and you place a reader (looked like a modern day computer mouse) and it would read the page to you. I think I was around 3 or 4. I remember reading Beverly Cleary and A LOT of Matt Christopher. In high school I got into Dragonlance and Forgotten Realms. In university I discovered Terry Brooks and read everything he wrote. Now I’m into historical fiction and some sci-fi.

  3. 4. Apparently as soon as I learned to read, I was off and running with it. Went from He-Man and She-Ra books to newspapers to reading my mom’s historical romances by the time I was 7. Passed this trait on to my daughter, Miss L, who learned to read a couple years ago and is just as crazy about reading as I am.

    1. Historical romances at 7? Wow, I don’t think I was even interested in romance at all when I was that age. I was still on non-fiction then. Actually, I’m still not interested in romance 🙂

      1. I don’t think its a case of “this is what I was interested in” as much as .. we lived 40 minutes from the nearest library, and so I read what was available… which was the historical romances my mom always had laying around.

  4. I really struggled to learn to read even simple words and ending up getting extra tuition in school to help me. Hence didn’t enjoy reading until I was nine and my sister lent me Enid Blyton books (huge in UK and Ireland) adventure/school stories. We read The Hobbit age 9 in school and it really turned the corner for me. Made up ground fast and was on Charles Dickens at 11. I still read 70-100 books a year – across lots of genres and non-fiction.

Leave a Reply

