Two Weeks Without Reading

It’s been more than two weeks since I read a book. I used to go months without reading at times, but that hasn’t happened in a few years. In at least the past five years, I’ve read books nearly every day, sometimes going a couple days without reading anything. But this time, I went two weeks without reading.

I’ve come to the conclusion that reading is like an addictive drug. I have a strong desire to read right now, and I want to immerse myself in another world as soon as possible. I find that seeing the world or another world from the eyes of other people is incredibly desirable. I want to know how they see things, how they feel, and how they do things. I want to read now!

It’s also been two weeks since I’ve done normal updates on this blog. Of course, I’ve kept to two posts per day, but they’ve been short, and just like my reading, the number of people reading my blog has dropped drastically. But I think this also has to do with the fact that I haven’t been responding to comments in a timely manner while my sister’s been here.Β  Well, now that she’s gone back to Canada, I’ll get back to work on providing bigger and better posts. Not only will I be reading books again, but you’ll be reading more from this blog.

So, how were your last two weeks?

12 thoughts on “Two Weeks Without Reading”

  1. Busy! I’ve started my masters degree, and now I have no time for anything. Or rather, I feel like I have no time. I still accidentally fall asleep on the sofa for a few hours, or have to clean the flat, but there’s more panicking involved with the “I should be doing my work!”.

    Unfortunately, one of the things that has disappeared is reading. I’ve got a fair few books on my shelves that I want to read, new and old, and I just don’t have the downtime to get into them. Thinking that I might need to edge in a half hour as I go to bed, because I do miss reading. You’re absolutely right, it is addictive.

      1. I think I am on almost every environmental and social justice mailing list that exists. Well, not really, but it seems that way. I am trying to pare down to make things more manageable. I also follow a bunch of blogs by daily or weekly email digest and keep adding more. I should take some out, but not yours, of course. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

