Dragons in Fantasy

Dragons are a big part of fantasy novels. They’re also a big part of mythology from several cultures, especially Chinese. There’s even the real life komodo dragon. But what are some of the best novels and novel series that feature dragons?

I’ve read quite a few. One that’s quite prominent is the Pern series by Anne McCaffrey. However, I classify that as science fiction, not fantasy. There’s also Temeraire by Naomi Novik. And who can forget Smaug from J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit? And then we have the dragons of A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. Although I haven’t read them, we can’t forget the Dragonlance novels written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

What are some of your favourite fantasy series with dragons?

12 thoughts on “Dragons in Fantasy”

  1. You’ve named my favs: The Hobbit and the Song of Ice and Fire series. I can’t really think of any more off the top of my head, but my YA series is going to feature a species of creature based on dragons because I love them so much. ^_^

  2. Terry Brooks features a few dragons. Witch’s Brew in the Kingdom for Sale series for one. Rise of the Dragons by Morgan Rice, too. My favorite dragon, though, is Puff 🙂

            1. I just remember the dragon and Pete trying to keep him a secret and some other “bad” guys trying to steal the dragon. I bet it’s one the kids would like.

Leave a Reply

