Week in Review – November 7, 2015

This is a new weekly feature I’m starting on the blog. I’m going to take a look at the week’s posts and talk about some other things that are happening. With at least fourteen posts a week, sometimes you may miss some. Well, this is a way for you to catch up.

This week’s posts.

I started off November with a post about November, My Rebound Month. October was slow statistically, but I have confidence in November.

I then moved on to books. More specifically, Foreign Language Books Translated into English. Please share your thoughts.

Next, I talked about being an introvert and having someone coming up to me and talking to me while I was peacefully reading. I wasn’t particularly happy about it. Read about A Nightmare for an Introverted Atheist.

A couple days late, I recounted the stats for October in Month in Review – October 2015. Really, it was the worst month of the year so far. But I had a pretty good reason. And I was surprised to see Croatia in the top ten countries.

And then there was a New Star Trek TV Series Announced, but… you know, I’m still confused about this. I’m hearing conflicting information that it will and won’t be available internationally and on TV.

And just for fun, I have a survey for you! So please go and answer the questions at Getting to Know You – Favourites.

Back to books, I started a survey all about book reviews. I started this blog as a review site, but it’s evolved a lot. So, I asked you some questions about reviews. Please answer them at Survey: Do You Read Book Reviews?

Rupert Murdoch has caused a possible doomsday scenario at National Geographic. Well, initial reports were a bit exaggerated, but what happened is still concerning. It really isn’t Good-bye, National Geographic, but changes could be coming, and not for the better.

Canada had an election last month, and now the new Liberal government has taken over. I took a quick look at Canada’s New Liberal Cabinet.

Recently, I’ve been a bit crazy about studying languages, particularly French, Spanish, and German. So, I asked you about what you’d like to study. Please vote in the Survey: Which Languages Do You Want to Learn?

The second year of Authors Answer has begun! Another 52 questions to answer over the next year. Check out our answers in Authors Answer 53 – Jumping on the Bandwagon.

I found a wonderful blog that provides lots of writing advice and tips, including some master lists of words and phrases you can use in your writing. Extremely useful! I highly recommending it. Check out A Great Resource for Writers.

And finally, I have a new geography related feature in the works that I want to get to work on soon. So, I decided to show you a big of a Quick Facts Geography Preview. Please take a look and give me your thoughts.

Writing

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I haven’t been doing much in the way of writing recently. No NaNoWriMo for me this year, either. Busy with a lot, and I don’t feel I can concentrate on writing very well with a kid always around me and our move to Canada coming so much closer.

Language Learning

On Duolingo, I’ve been studying four languages, although only two of them seriously at the moment. I am now at level 8 for French, level 5 for Spanish, level 3 for German, and level 1 for Irish. Also, Russian is now available, and I really want to study it.

Canada

We’re waiting now. The visa application is In Process status at the moment. Next should be a request for my wife’s passport. Once that’s done, it should be another wait for a month or three, then it’s finished. We hope.

Thanks for reading. Please check out all the blog posts I mentioned above. I’ll be back with another weekly review next week. Let me know what you think in the comments section. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

