The Excitement of Starting a New Book

I recently finished reading The Iliad, which was a pretty difficult book to read. It took me quite a while. But of course, I started on another book right after. And let me tell you, the feeling was wonderful.

Starting a new book gives me a feeling of excitement most of the time. Sometimes apprehension, but usually I feel very positive about it. If it’s a series I’m continuing, I always feel great about it.

This time, I started reading The Dragon Reborn, the third book in The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Since I’ve already read the first two books, I’m very familiar with the characters and the world. I was excited to start reading it. And since I’ve begun, I can’t seem to put the book down. I’m enjoying it thoroughly. It’s quite easy to read, and I get through the pages quickly. It’s probably Jordan’s style that keeps me glued to the book.

To be honest, I felt a bit of apprehension when I started The Iliad. The style is very unusual compared to what I’m used to reading. Of course, it is nearly three thousand years old. I felt a great sense of relief when I finished it. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the book, but it was hard work to read it. I still have The Odyssey to read.

When you start reading a new book, how do you feel? Do you have a strong feeling of anticipation or excitement? Let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “The Excitement of Starting a New Book”

  1. I’m anxious to read new books. Nervous. I’m afraid I won’t like it and therefore won’t be able to talk about to others and will have wished I read something different. But usually, I can’t wait to get started. Especially if it’s a book I know I’ll like. The Martian. Terry Brooks.

Leave a Reply

