Week in Review – November 14, 2015

It’s time to catch up on the past week. It’s been a busy week blogging, as well as language studying. Let’s check out what’s happened.

This week’s posts.

The first post of the week is for the birds. Actually, I enjoyed Hitting the Birdwatching Jackpot. Lots of egrets and a heron. Check out the pictures.

I managed to capture the exact moment I had 10,000 comments on this blog in Comment Milestone! Lucky! Take a look at the screencap.

I had a moment of silliness when I did this post, Kungfu Santa: The Movie. I’m sorry. It was just silly of me. But would you watch the movie?

On to reading. I started reading a new book recently, and I had to share The Excitement of Starting a New Book. I just really enjoy starting books, going on a new adventure. How about you?

Next up, I posted the next group of Instagram photos for you to vote on in Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 22. Unfortunately only three people voted. So, please go and vote! Usually, I get far more votes than that.

As you know, we’re moving to Canada. And I decided to talk about what I missed from Canada in 140 Days Until Canada. Are they normal things to miss?

Buzzfeed posted a list of things that supposedly annoy Canadians. I decided to respond to it with my feelings about each point. So, find out: Do These Things Really Annoy Canadians?

Do we really need early Christmas decorations? Have things gone too far? When should we start to say Merry Christmas?

My favourite YouTube channel posted a video about Canada! Woohoo! I really recommend watching it and learn a thing or two about Canada. Check out Canada by Geography Now.

On the science front, I posted a Facebook post containing a wonderful picture of an airplane with vortices coming off its propellers. Take a look at the Incredible Photo of Condensation Vortices from NASA.

This week had the 12th day of the month, which means Commentition time! Take a look and see who won Commentition Nefarious November 2015.

Thinking a bit about my future novels, I came to the realisation that I may have an Accidental Genre Change. Well, maybe it won’t be a big shift, but it was interesting to have that revelation.

The 54th Authors Answer question was one based on Friday the 13th. And what an interesting topic it was. There were some great answers. Very entertaining edition. You have got to read Authors Answer 54 – Torturing Our Characters.

And finally, on the language studying front, I had an interesting idea to gauge my interest in all of the languages available on Duolingo. I’m going to try Test Driving Languages. What will my first impressions be?

Writing

Nothing much to update here, but I’m getting an itch to do some critiquing and store up the points for when I have the time to focus on my writing and have it critiqued. I also have something to do with a friend I plan to help out.

Reading

I’m making good progress on The Dragon Reborn. Finished about 17%. I’m also slowly going through The Book of Deacon, which is now at 79%. Hopefully, I can finish that one soon. And reviews are coming!

Language Learning

Apart from the post above about test driving languages, I did go up a level in German. Now at level 4. French is still at level 8 and Spanish at level 5. I started trying out Esperanto, though. I also installed the Russian and Ukrainian keyboards on my computer in preparation to type Cyrillic.

Thanks for reading! What’s been your highlight of the week? Unfortunately, the terrorist attacks in Paris have had me thinking about a lot of things, and a post is coming soon about it. Keep your eye on this blog for that. And look forward to another week of blogging!

4 thoughts on “Week in Review – November 14, 2015”

  1. I’m bad! I usually vote, but I’m still getting a hang of this “check the reader, not your email” way of keeping up haha. I’ll get it together sooner out later. Right now, I’m going in reverse, so I should get there soon enough.

Leave a Reply

