Do You Read Comics?

I blog about books. But I never talk about comics. Comics are books. But I’m not a big reader of them. I know there are some very good comics, many of which have become TV series or movies. The Walking Dead is a big one, but I’ve never read it.

I tend to only read Garfield these days. Occasionally, I look at Bizarro or The Far Side, too. But I’ve been reading Garfield since I was a kid.

When I was a kid, I also read The Transformers comics and watched the cartoon. I read a little of Superman and Batman, but very rarely. And I read the comics in the newspaper all the time.

How about you? Do you read comic books? Which ones do you read?

26 thoughts on “Do You Read Comics?”

      1. At least half of it goes over her head. But she’s constantly re-reading them, and as time goes on, you can see her ‘getting’ more and more of it.

        I know this because I hear the insane cackles coming from her room at 9 and 10 o’clock at night as she’s shouting at lines at the top of her lungs (every time Calvin yells, she yells) and then collapsing into giggles.

        1. Wow, she really loves it. My daughter doesn’t really read yet, but she’s always playing with toys and making up stories. Lots of arguments between the toys.

  1. I loved Calvin and Hobbes growing up. I now read newer comics like Saga, Wytches and East of West. I’m intimidated by the Marvel and DC series because they’re so long and there are so many. >.<

      1. There are several “entry points” to reading Marvel.
        Actually Marvel is resetting its universe at the moment (as I don’t read regularly anymore, I don’t know the details, but apparently, that means that the storylines start over more or less).

  2. I read tons and tons of comics, because we stock a good supply at the library. Some are great. Some are CRAP. I agree that a lot of the superhero comics are too lengthy and intertwined to really enjoy if you haven’t been following them for ages, especially with the way storylines are revamped and rebooted these days. That said, there are a few standalone series/characters in each of those universes that you can comfortably follow — I always liked John Constantine, Hellblazer, and am currently enjoying Ms. Marvel.

      1. I don’t think she’s quite the first, since I recall at least one other in the Marvel universe, who is actually currently wielding Excalibur — yes! looked it up just now and she’s Faiza Hussain with MI-13, which I guess is a Britain-based Marvel title. There are likely more, here and there.

        But I think Ms. Marvel is the first one helming her own title.

      2. There are more Muslim superheroes, Dust (an Afghan niqab wearing teen who is part of the X-men) comes to mind, but as H. Anthe Davis said, Ms Marvel is the first with her own title.

  3. I read a lot of Marvel (basically all X-Men and X-Men related books) from childhood until about 5 years ago.

    These days, the only ongoing series that I read is the Walking Dead.
    I also read a bunch of graphic novels, both Anglo and French (Comics in France are very different from North America or Japan: they’re mostly graphic novels, come in hardback and have been considered art for decades).

    I’d say that my two favorite authors are Grant Morrison and Neil Gaiman, even though I haven’t read anything recent from them (Does Gaiman still write comics? Not too sure), and I consider Sandman (by Gaiman) and Invisibles (by Morrison) to be two of the best things I have read in my life… Not best comics, best things.

Leave a Reply

