From Japan to Canada – Changing My License

After I came to Japan, I changed my Canadian driver’s license to a Japanese one. It took me about five hours one day, but it was finished. I had to get my Canadian license and five year driving record translated, but that was all. No tests were required. It was basically an exchange of licenses.

Now that I’m going back to Canada, I have to do he reverse. It’s a bit easier, because I won’t have to get my driving record here in Japan. I do have to get my license translated, though. And that’s the difficult part. According to the Alberta Motor Association, I must have my license translated by an approved translator. However, Japanese licenses are a special case. They must be translated at the Consulate-General of Japan, which is in Calgary. And that will require a little trip down to Calgary. Also, to get my license, I need to provide AMA with my address, which I’ll probably be able to give them once I’ve changed my address at my bank.

One of the most important things I need to do is get a car. There’s a very good chance that the job I’m going to be doing will require a car. So, I need my license as quickly as possible, and I will most likely be leasing a car.

But what kind of car? Something small is fine at first. Once we’re all settled and ready to buy a car, we may be looking at some smaller SUVs, or crossovers. I’m a bit partial to the Honda Vezel, which is available in Canada as the Honda HR-V. We may also consider the Subaru Forester. But in the beginning, we kind of have our eye on the Toyota Aqua, which is known as Toyota Prius c in Canada. Keep in mind that this is not actually a Prius, but a different model. It just has the Prius name in North America. And, honestly, I wouldn’t mind the Audi Q3 or Q5, that is if I had the money.

And finally, I really do miss driving in Canada. I’m sure my sister found it interesting being a passenger in Japan while I was driving one day.

4 thoughts on “From Japan to Canada – Changing My License”

  1. We have a Rav4 and absolutely love it. Carollas are excellent, dependable cars, too. Tracey just got a Mazda CX3- neat little suv. We had our eye on the Prius C, too, but it was out of our price range. Its fuel economy is incredible!

Leave a Reply

