Childhood Cartoons

Yesterday, we talked about comics. Now, let’s talk about cartoons, especially those we watched when we were kids.

I was born in the 1970s, so I was a child of the 80s. And that meant I got to experience the golden age of Saturday morning cartoons! The 80s were a great time to watch cartoons.

I was a big fan of The Transformers, and watched all the episodes, the movie, and had lots of toys. In 2004, I bought the complete DVD set, which I enjoyed just as much as when I was a kid. It had been so long since I’d seen it, it all felt fresh and new. I also watched MASK and had toys for that. I loved Garfield and Friends, Inspector Gadget, and the old Spider-man. And I also watched Astroboy, which is known as Tetsuwan Atom in Japan. I had no idea it was Japanese, and definitely didn’t know I would visit his neighbourhood in Tokyo, Takadanobaba. There’s even a big mural under the station dedicated to Osamu Tezuka, the creator of Tetsuwan Atom.

What did you enjoy watching when you were growing up? Share your answers in the comments!

16 thoughts on “Childhood Cartoons”

    1. And those aren’t even from my childhood. Maybe when I was a teenager, some of them were on, but Toonami didn’t even come out until I was in university. I’m old.

  1. I mainly focused on the Bugs Bunny/Road Runner Show on Saturdays, and I learned pretty early on that anything Filmation made was utter crap in comparision ;). One of the indie tv stations from Boston used to have an excellent lineup in the afternoons when I was a kid, and I’d watch Warner Bros cartoons (both new and old), as well as Tom & Jerry and Top Cat.

    1. Of course, I watched Bugs Bunny and Roadrunner all the time, too. I forgot to mention them. They’re still a favourite of mine, and I watched them up until I came to Japan.

  2. Sorry to admit I’m a bit older… As a child of the 60’s, I loved Speed Racer – and the shoe held up for me when I watched it as an adult! After Speed, it was mainly Krofft live action shows.

  3. I just got to introduce my kids to Inspector Gadget this week–brought back great memories. I’m proud to say my kids also love The Jetsons and Flintstones. My favorite Saturday morning cartoon was probably the Smurfs, but my dad always got us watching Rocky & Bullwinkle cartoons from when he was young.

    1. I watched the Smurfs, too. The Flintstones was what I watched when I went home for lunch from school (I lived near my elementary school) and The Jetsons was after school. And Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles was on then, too! And after that, I watched Star Trek, then Star Trek: The Next Generation.

        1. Yeah, they do. They were a big part of everyone’s childhood, and I think people can remember exactly where they watched the shows, what time, and what they were doing.

Leave a Reply

