Star Trek Ship Diagrams

When I was in high school, I often went to Star Trek conventions with my friend. One of the things I enjoyed doing was going to the dealers’ room where I could buy a lot of different Star Trek goods. I wanted the books, mostly. On Facebook, I saw a gallery of Star Trek starship cutaways, which brought back a lot of memories.

startrektngtechnicalmanualThere are three books I bought at the conventions that have a lot of diagrams and schematics. I think the biggest and most thorough one is the Star Trek: The Next Generation Technical Manual. I thought it was an incredible book. I still have it, but it’s in Canada. I’m looking forward to reading it again. I’ve even had it autographed by James Doohan. Although it’s the wrong ship, he did appear in one episode of TNG.

I have a couple other books with many diagrams. They are Jackill’s Star Fleet Reference Manual: Ships of the Fleet Volume I and Volume II. Those books are incredible, although not official. They have so many original cast movie era starships with cutaways from side and front, and many diagrams, statistics, and more. I loved those books. But you know what? Searching for these books on Amazon gave me a surprise. There’s a Volume III! I had no idea. Looks like the Excelsior class is on the cover. I must try and get this book.

Now, I have to try and make diagrams of the ships that take the colonists to Ariadne. That’ll be quite the monumental task, I think.

2 thoughts on “Star Trek Ship Diagrams”

  1. I would have gotten the autograph as well. I’ve been to several Trek conventions over the years and regret those Trek actors who are now dead that I didn’t get to meet and thank for the joy they had given me over the years.

Leave a Reply

