Wasting Time – Smartphone Games

Smartphones are computers, and they have some pretty high quality games. Far better than the ones I had for Sega Game Gear more than twenty years ago. But I try not to spend too much time playing them.

However, I do play some. These are what have my attention at the moment:

SimCity BuildIt

To tide me over until I get a new copy of SimCity 4 for my computer, I’ve been building a city on my iPhone with SimCity BuildIt. It’s an okay substitute, but I prefer the more realistic look of SimCity 4.

Angry Birds 2

This is pretty fun, but I tend to only play one level a day. I spend some time playing Angry Birds Friends on Facebook, too.

2048

This is a simple game where the objective is to add up the squares to 2048. You start with 2, combine it with another 2 to make 4, and you need another 4 to make 8, and so on. It keeps doubling, but it’s not as easy as you’d think.

There are some others that I have been playing, but not so often these days. What are you playing, if you play games on a smartphone?

Mythology in Science Fiction

Mythology plays a very important part in establishing the culture and world in fantasy novels. It is often the basis for the magic system, the religious beliefs, and the antagonist. There’s often an influence by gods or other supernatural beings, and the amount of power could be limitless.

In science fiction, mythology is quite different. It may not even be present. In Star Wars, the Force is almost mythological. In Dune, the religions have changed so much that they’ve become the new mythology. In the Hyperion Cantos, the Shrike is often regarded as a myth or legend. Much of the time, mythology draws on older religions, but not always.

In my Ariadne universe, there will be a couple cases of new religions and mythologies that develop. One has an origin that will change over time as the centuries pass, but it’s an interesting mix of elemental and old Earth religion, mainly Christianity. The Christianity part fades away, but the basis is there. In the other case, Earth itself becomes almost mythological, and it’s revered by a large portion of the population.

What are some other examples of mythology in science fiction? Let me know in the comments below.