Week in Review – December 5, 2015

A very successful November finished and a new month started. So, what did you miss?

This week’s posts

I started the week off with another TV related question: Would You Ever Be on a Reality Show? I got some interesting answers. You can join in the discussion still.

As an English teacher, I hear a lot of mistakes made during lessons. Here are some Common Mistakes I Hear While Teaching English. A couple of them I am told are actually used in the UK, or they may not be used in the UK. I got conflicting messages from a couple of English people.

With only Four Months Until Canada, I talked about what I was anticipating, especially food I want to eat. There are so many things I want!

I’m a big Star Trek fan, and I saw something that brought back a lot of memories of books I got at Star Trek conventions. Check out the Star Trek Ship Diagrams.

As November ended and December began, I posted my usual month end summary. Take a look at Month in Review – November 2015. Some great stats last month!

On the topic of books, Goodreads had their own book awards recently, and the results are out. Some interesting books in there. Take a look at the Goodreads Choice Awards Winners.

I love worldbuilding, and creating a mythology is a wonderful thing to do for a fantasy world. But what about science fiction? Check out Mythology in Science Fiction. Not much discussion generated, but you’re very welcome to contribute.

Sometimes I waste too much time. I have one thing to thank. Well, two things to thank, YouTube, and this: Wasting Time – Smartphone Games. What do you play?

One of the coolest videos I’ve seen in a while was from a rocket launched recently. Ever Seen a Rocket Stage Separation? Not Like This! Prepare to be impressed.

Another round of Instagram photos, and there are some interesting ones this week. If you haven’t already done so, please go and vote for your favourites: Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 24.

You know, I’m seriously considering starting a blog about science, the earth, and the environment, all because of things like this: The War Against Trees and Phytoplankton. Any opinions?

Sometimes, authors hate answering the same question over and over again. Well, our authors shared with us which question they hate the answer in Authors Answer 57 – Stop Asking Me That Question!

And finally, some new images to share with you from Pluto. But it’s in video form. Be prepared to be impressed yet again! Highest Resolution Ever Images from Pluto. You’ll be glad you checked it out.

Reading

I finished a book! I finished reading The Book of Deacon, and started another. The new one is another eBook, and it’s called Keepers of Water, by R. G. Porter. It’s a fantasy novel involving a fantasy race coming into our world. I’ve now read 5% of it. The Dragon Reborn is now at 58%, and I should finish it this month.

Language Learning

I haven’t advanced in level in any language, but I am getting very close to doing so in French. Not much else to report there.

And that’s it for this week. I should get a couple book reviews up over the next week or two, and I’ll definitely go up a level in French. I’m hoping to test drive another language soon, too. Look for that in the coming week!

Highest Resolution Ever Images From Pluto

We have some amazing images coming in from New Horizons, and they are the highest resolution images we will see. But this is just the first! There will be a lot more coming. It would be great to post an image, but I won’t do that. Instead, watch this video. And I recommend watching it in full screen at full resolution.

We start off with a terrain that is very light and icy with some craters. But it appears that there’s a dark material in the craters. It appears it’s layered. Probably various ices. It then moves down into a badlands region, which wouldn’t look too out of place on Earth. Then it abruptly moves into a water ice region with polygonal shapes and what looks like a rippled terrain.

The surface of Pluto is absolutely fascinating. You can read the article here on New Horizons’ official page at NASA.

What do you think of this recent image?