Things I’d Like to Try, But Never Thought I’d Want to

When I was younger, there were a lot of things I saw my parents doing that I never thought I’d be interested in. But I’m wrong. I know that now. But not just about what they do, but other things, as well.

Gardening

That’s right, I’d like to have a garden. In fact, I’d love to try making both a vegetable garden and a Japanese garden. I love the look of a Japanese garden. I’ve grown to really enjoy aesthetics of buildings and landscapes, and I wish everything could look amazing or beautiful. But it’s not just an aesthetics thing, I also enjoy biology, and want to know more about botany.

Doing hair

There was an article written about this guy that I saw on Facebook that led to a Facebook page called Daddy Daughter Hair Factory. Never in a million years did I ever think I would actually want to learn how to do a girl’s hair. Now that I have a daughter, I’ve noticed that it’s not that uncommon for fathers to do this. It’s got me interested. They even have a blog.

There are still things I can’t see myself doing, including doing any kind of musical activity or dancing. But if my daughter wants to do them, and she seems to really love singing and dancing, I will have no problems at all taking her to lessons.

What interests or hobbies did you develop later in life that you never thought you’d do?

13 thoughts on “Things I’d Like to Try, But Never Thought I’d Want to”

  1. Awe, the Daddy Daughter hair thing is so great! I’m still in my early 20’s, so I still have a long ways yet to discover things I never thought I’d do, but so far, I’ve hitchhiked and found it incredibly rewarding!

  2. My husband learned to do our daughters’ hair, specializing in different types of braids. His hands are bigger than mine, which I think helped make it easier.

    While I wrote poetry as a pre-teen, it was a surprise that I returned to it in a serious way when I turned 50.

Leave a Reply

