Book Business Cards and Cheat Sheets

In last week’s Authors Answer, one of the more common questions we hated to answer was “What’s your book about?” It’s a difficult question to answer because we usually don’t have a rehearsed description of the book we’re writing. So, I thought, why not just write down a brief description of the book, like it would appear on the back cover, and give that to anyone who asks?

Turns out, this kind of thing is real. But they’re simply author’s business cards. However, you can put a book blurb on one side of it. That’s fine for if you have a published book, but it doesn’t work for a book you’re currently writing.  And why would you write the blurb before you even finish the book? That’s not an easy thing to do, since your book may change drastically by the time you publish.

So, make a cheat sheet. Just write down what you feel is the best description you can make of your work in progress, and keep it in your wallet. Whenever someone asks, pull it out and read it to them. Even better, memorise it. Or if you like, print out a bunch of them on paper and hand them to anyone who wants to know, along with your name, email, and website’s address.

Anyone ever seen something like this? What do you think?

9 thoughts on “Book Business Cards and Cheat Sheets”

  1. Every time I do a booksale, I end up writing out a quick pitch on some piece of scrap paper, just because the words fly out of my head any time someone actually asks. I actually did a sale just a couple days ago and my pitch is here, scribbled on the transaction guide for the event: ‘escaped slave being hunted because of the spirit-entity inside him’. I should probably make myself a card just so I don’t have to do that anymore.

      1. It’s not bad to figure out a quick pitch just from the start, mind you. Kinda gives you something to aim for — and you can always adjust it if you get further and realize it no longer fits. When I start each book now, I make up a little ‘teaser’ blurb like you’d see on a movie poster — something dramatic about the way I think the book will go. Some of those have turned into the openers for my back-cover content, while others have changed vastly. But to each their own. 😀

        1. I think I should do something like that for my official author’s blog. What I’ve got right now are nothing more than placeholders. I’d like them to sound a lot better.

  2. There’s actually a name for what this is supposed to be – it’s called an elevator pitch. You’re always supposed to have one in your back pocket (figuratively, that is) specifically to answer that question in the quickest, most concise way that also makes whoever you’re pitching to intrigued. It’s some sort of “rule” (that, like any rule, can be broken haha).

Leave a Reply

