Test Driving Languages – Esperanto

Flag_of_Esperanto.svgMoving on to my second language test drive, I tackle the constructed language, Esperanto. This language has no native country, and was created to be the international language. It’s based on various European languages, so it’s meant to be easy to understand and learn if you have studied any European language. It has a somewhat Romance language sound, though many words are recognisable from a Germanic point of view. Around two million people worldwide can speak Esperanto, while about two thousand are native speakers, having been taught since birth.

Mi estas viro.

— I am a man.

Alphabet

This is very easy. It has the same alphabet as English, generally, but there are some letters with an accent above them to change the pronunciation to a soft one. But overall, not difficult.

Pronunciation

This is also very easy. It’s straightforward and follows strict pronunciation rules. Nothing tricky about it at all.

Grammar

Also very easy. In fact, it follows Germanic and Romance language word order. It’s subject-verb-object, and there is no indefinite article. Only definite articles. Nouns always end in -o, verbs end in -as, adjectives end in -a, and adverbs end in -e. Opposites have the prefix mal- added. So, you only need to know one adjective or adverb to be able to know the opposite. You’ve basically doubled your vocabulary. Incredibly easy.

Overall Impression

I took the first six lessons, which is very basic grammar and vocabulary. I could retain almost all of it without reviewing much at all. It’s easy to remember, because many of the words are somewhat similar to words in English, French, Spanish, etc. If I study this language, I’ll probably do it quickly. I’ve heard it’s a great language to study if you want to study other European languages. It’s supposed to make it easier. If you find languages difficult, then give this one a try. It may even help you study other languages.

Are you interested in this language? Let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Test Driving Languages – Esperanto”

  1. It sounds so wonderfully easy! I’m afraid I would try it and end up having a hard time with it, though – just because I’m me hahah. I doubt it, but that would be something else, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

