Mission Statement – Science

Here is the second part of the blog’s mission statement. And this time, we move into reality. Less geeky, more nerdy.

I have a very long history with science. From the very beginning when I got encyclopedias, I started reading them, especially for the science and geography entries. I also read a lot of dinosaur and astronomy books. In university, I studied physics and astronomy, though I included a couple geology classes and an atmospheric science class. I haven’t stopped reading about science. On this blog, I started the Encyclopedia Entries series, but have changed it to Quick Facts, as they’re designed to be easy to read and you’re able to find facts quickly. I also talk about various current events in science, especially related to astronomy and space exploration.

As for Quick Facts, this is what is currently planned:

Astronomy

I’m currently going through the moons of the solar system in alphabetic order. In the future, I may focus on constellations and major stars.

Space Exploration

I’m going to go through all of the space probes, both successful and unsuccessful, that were sent to study other bodies in the solar system. I’ll do them in chronological order.

Geography

I will be going through all of the countries in alphabetic order, then move on to Canadian provinces and territories, Japanese prefectures, American states, and Australian states. I may do more.

Palaeontology

I’ll be covering all of the dinosaurs in alphabetic order, which may take a long time. After that, I may take a look at pterosaurs, icthyosaurs, mosasaurs, and plesiosaurs. And I may go further back in time, too.

Zoology

I’d like to go through the birds of North America. I was often fascinated by birds, which we now know are modern dinosaurs. So, why not include them?

Beyond these, I will have to see what comes up in the future. Who knows, I may look at geology, volcanoes, or even take a look at history in some way.

One thing I’d like to do with these is have a weekly schedule to post them. It’ll either be once or twice a week. I’ll have to see which is best.

So, what are you most interested in seeing? Let me know in the comments below.

Mission Statement – Books, Movies, and TV

This is the first part of the Mission Statement of this blog. This is what you can expect in the coming year and more. And it’s a pretty geeky Mission Statement!

When I started this blog, I wanted to focus on book reviews and my writing. So, I’d like to reiterate that book reviews are a major feature of this blog. However, that’s going to expand to movies and TV. And not just any movies and TV, but science fiction, fantasy, and superhero movies and TV!

Movies

I’m going to be doing a few challenges, as well as following very specific themes when reviewing movies. Here’s what you can expect to see:

  • Marvel and DC superhero movies
  • Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
  • Star Wars
  • Star Trek (will be done along with the TV series in chronological order)
  • James Bond movies
  • Harry Potter
  • Transformers movies
  • Terminator movies
  • Alien movies
  • Jurassic Park movies
  • Robin Williams movies (my favourite actor, so I should do this)
  • And pretty much any science fiction or fantasy movie I can get my hands on.

Television Series

There are so many TV series I want to watch, and I will do reviews episode by episode. They will be brief, though. Don’t expect me to go into as much detail as I do with books.

  • All Star Trek TV series in chronological order
  • Battlestar Galactica (all series)
  • Doctor Who
  • Firefly
  • Xena
  • Hercules
  • Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis
  • Transformers
  • The Shannara Chronicles
  • The upcoming series based on Kim Stanley Robinson’s Mars Trilogy
  • Game of Thrones
  • Possibilities: The X-Files, Space: Above and Beyond, Earth 2

That’s a lot to watch, isn’t it? There may be more, it just depends on what I find. What are you looking forward to seeing? Any I missed that you think I should watch? Let me know in the comments.