Mission Statement – Books, Movies, and TV

This is the first part of the Mission Statement of this blog. This is what you can expect in the coming year and more. And it’s a pretty geeky Mission Statement!

When I started this blog, I wanted to focus on book reviews and my writing. So, I’d like to reiterate that book reviews are a major feature of this blog. However, that’s going to expand to movies and TV. And not just any movies and TV, but science fiction, fantasy, and superhero movies and TV!

Movies

I’m going to be doing a few challenges, as well as following very specific themes when reviewing movies. Here’s what you can expect to see:

  • Marvel and DC superhero movies
  • Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit
  • Star Wars
  • Star Trek (will be done along with the TV series in chronological order)
  • James Bond movies
  • Harry Potter
  • Transformers movies
  • Terminator movies
  • Alien movies
  • Jurassic Park movies
  • Robin Williams movies (my favourite actor, so I should do this)
  • And pretty much any science fiction or fantasy movie I can get my hands on.

Television Series

There are so many TV series I want to watch, and I will do reviews episode by episode. They will be brief, though. Don’t expect me to go into as much detail as I do with books.

  • All Star Trek TV series in chronological order
  • Battlestar Galactica (all series)
  • Doctor Who
  • Firefly
  • Xena
  • Hercules
  • Stargate SG-1 and Atlantis
  • Transformers
  • The Shannara Chronicles
  • The upcoming series based on Kim Stanley Robinson’s Mars Trilogy
  • Game of Thrones
  • Possibilities: The X-Files, Space: Above and Beyond, Earth 2

That’s a lot to watch, isn’t it? There may be more, it just depends on what I find. What are you looking forward to seeing? Any I missed that you think I should watch? Let me know in the comments.

9 thoughts on “Mission Statement – Books, Movies, and TV”

  1. The film’s of Terry Gilliam, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, or Wim Wenders. Although I recommend them all but I wouldn’t do a marathon viewing of them. Mostly because their work is mind blowing and strange, and yet intellectually beautiful. ‘Wings of Desire’ and ‘Far Away So Close’, however belong together like the two sides of a coin.

    1. I have only ever heard of one of those people, Terry Gilliam. But who hasn’t? Since I’m a bit of a Monty Python fan, I’ve seen him plenty of times.

      1. You may be familiar with most of these directors and not know it.

        Alejandro Jodorowsky is the one your least likely to have heard of and His films are some of the most bizarre your ever likely to see. He is a comic book writer (Metal Hurlant/Heavy Metal) and filmmaker. He most notably made the first adaptation of Frank Herbert’s Dune which was completed without ever being shot on film. Every shot and Camera angle was storyboarded, the script itself would have had enough material to make a 14 hour film. Production shut down just before filming could be done. Their is A wonderful documentary about this project called ‘Jodowrowsky’s Dune’.

        You probably have seen a Jean-Pierre Jeunet film and just don’t know it. ‘Amelie’, ‘The City of Lost Children’, or ‘Alien Resurrection’.

        My introduction to Terry Gilliam was the either the film ‘Brazil’ or ’12 Monkeys’ actually and not Monty Python.

        Wim Wenders is a German director better known for documentaries like ‘Buena Vista Social Club’. If you saw ‘City of Angels’ with Megan Ryan and Nicolas Cage than you saw the shallow and not nearly as beautiful remake of ‘Wings of Desire’.

        1. I know “Heavy Metal” and have seen “Alien Resurrection.” Seems many directors don’t really get their name out.

          I wonder how that “Dune” movie would’ve been.

  2. Hey if your doing The Terminator Movies you should know that they were originally written by Sophia Stewart in ‘The Third Eye’ which was stolen from her by Gale Ann Hurd who gave it to James Cameron to direct. All the Terminator stories were derived from the first part of Stewart’s treatment, while the second part of ‘The Third Eye’ fell into the hands of the Watchowskis and became the ‘Matrix’. One of the segments of the ‘Animatrix’ practically lays out how the ‘Matrix’ is the future of ‘Terminator’. In a nut shell Neo is John Connor.

Leave a Reply

