What Happens at a Writer’s Group?

I’ve never been a member of a local writer’s group, and I have no idea if there are any around here. I haven’t looked into it. So, basically, I don’t know what really goes on at one. I have a vague idea. Writers meet, discuss their writing, maybe get advice. But do they share their work? What exactly do they do?

Are you a member of a local writer’s group? If you are, then what do you do at a meeting? What kind of places do you meet? Are there any relatively well-known authors? What are the benefits of joining a writer’s group?

Please let me know in the comments below. I’m wondering if I should join one after we get to Canada.

Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 26

I think you’re going to like one picture in this group. I have a strong feeling about it. Just perfect timing with very funny results. Coming soon (not yet in these photos), the quality will increase dramatically as I started using other apps to bring out the colours better. But sunsets still have strong colours. You’ll see one here, too!

The rules are simple. I post 10 of my Instagram photos every few days, and you get to vote on your favourites. It’s multiple choice, so please vote for 2 to 4 photos (3 is ideal). Leave a comment saying why you voted the way you did. The poll comes after the photos.

Here are the photos.

Ofuna shopping street

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Ofuna shops

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Shonan Monorail

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Pachinko palm trees

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Sushiro kaitenzushi

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Ofuna cat is the boss

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Ginkgo leaves turning yellow

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

A bit of yellow in the green

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

I think it's fall

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Fire or sunset?

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

 

And now the vote. Please vote for your favourite photos (ideally 3, but anywhere between 2 and 4):

 

Thanks for the votes. I hope you’re enjoying the photos, and I really hope you’ll enjoy the future photos, too. Please leave a comment with your reasons for choosing your votes.