Adventures at the Coin Laundry

In Japan, there are many little laundromats called coin laundry. They’re open twenty-four hours. I’ve encountered strange people there before. And right now, I’m in the coin laundry washing and drying something.

A man came in and angrily tossed his laundry into the dryer. He slammed the washing machine and dryer doors, and stalked out of the coin laundry. Not sure what he was angry about. I guess I’m waiting for the laundry to finish instead of going home while it dries.

Other times, I’ve been stared at by old men while I loaded the dryer. And on one occasion, a couple old men started talking to me. I think they were testing my Japanese, because they seemed very interested in my brief replies. They were impressed by simple answers. I didn’t really want to talk to them. Their attitude was a bit odd.

So now, I’m sitting here with another man who’s drying his clothes. He’s concentrating in his phone, so no problem.

Ever have strange encounters at the laundromat?

2 thoughts on “Adventures at the Coin Laundry”

Leave a Reply

