What Do You Think of Turkey?

Turkey is delicious. At least, I think it is. I love eating turkey breast meat with the skin on, smothered in turkey gravy, along with a side of mashed potatoes and gravy. To me, that’s Christmas dinner.

The following day, we can eat more turkey! And having a turkey sandwich with barbecue sauce is great on the third or fourth day. It makes my mouth water. Amazing leftovers.

However, here in Japan, whenever I talk about Christmas dinner, people always say they’re eating chicken. Then, when I mention that I always ate turkey in Canada, they immediately say that turkey doesn’t taste good. They don’t understand how I can eat turkey. I think the problem is that they have such little experience with turkey in Japan, that they don’t actually know what it tastes like. And those who have tried to cook it don’t really know how to cook it so that it isn’t dry. It’s difficult to roast, as the breast meat becomes pretty dry if it’s not properly cooked.

But then, a lot of people in Japan prefer dark meat over white meat on chicken. Chicken breast is very cheap in Japan, which surprised me.

What do you think? Do you like turkey? And do you prefer white or dark meat? Gravy? Let me know in the comments below.

14 thoughts on “What Do You Think of Turkey?”

  1. I don’t much care for turkey, or goose either; I think they taste the same, and are both rather strong, like a back-of-the-tongue taste. Plus, it’s so easy to dry out, I can see why it might not be popular. It’s always tough to buy something expensive and have it not turn out nice, and probably puts a lot of people off trying again.

    1. Really? I always thought of turkey as being quite mild-tasting, except for the dark meat. I’ve only ever had smoked goose. Duck would be nice, though. I love duck.

  2. I LOVE turkey. Gravy makes it 100 times better. We celebrate Canadian Thanksgiving with a turkey. Then we celebrate American athanksgiving with another turkey. Leftovers are great and I love making turkey soup, too.

  3. I’d say that turkey is really meh… And I think that North Americans love it as for once, they’re eating a different meat from Beef, Pork or Chicken… πŸ˜‰
    Coming from a country that eats several dozens of different meats, I’d say that turkey is near the bottom, not really bad, but nothing that interesting really, unless it’s cooked perfectly, which very rarely happens.
    Luckily, while turkey is supposed to be the traditional Christmas meat in France too, in my area we often replace it with duck (not really special, it’s the local meat where I’m from) or goose, or sometimes something a bit more unusual, my soft spot going to ostrich… Gosh I miss ostrich. πŸ™‚

    1. Ostrich? Where did you eat that? I could buy it in Canada, but it’s rather expensive, and only available in a limited number of stores. I never did try it. What’s it like?

      1. I had ostrich in France, many times, you can just buy at the store (not every store and not all the time though).
        We’ve always had a pretty diverse diet as far as meat is concerned in France (probably most of Europe too), but ostrich remains something unusual and untraditional though.
        It’s delicious. Texture is almost “mammaly” (as opposed to “birdy” πŸ˜‰ ). The taste is stronger than the usual bird meats, but not that strong either. I like it better rare to medium rare (it’s kind of a red meat, even if it’s nothing like beef).

        1. I’d like to try it. In Canada, we can buy bison in stores. It’s a lot like beef, but much leaner and can be difficult to cook, since it dries out easily. But it makes amazing burgers.

Leave a Reply

