Test Driving Languages – Dutch

Flag_of_the_Netherlands.svgThe next language to take a look at is one that is probably closest to English than any other language (other than Scots). It’s the native language of The Netherlands, and is also spoken in several other places, such as Belgium, Suriname, Aruba, Curacao, Sint Maarten, and is also the mother language of Afrikaans, which is spoken in South Africa and Namibia. Considering it’s similar to English, it’s said to be one of the easiest languages for English speakers to learn. Let’s find out.

Ik ben een man.

— I am a man.

Alphabet

Basically the same as in English. There are a few accents, though. But quite easy.

Pronunciation

For an English speaker, the pronunciation based on the spelling takes a little getting used to. It’s not as expected. For example, “j” has a “y” sound. The vowels can sound different than expected, as well. It’s not as straightforward as some of the Romance languages, but I think I can get used to it after a short time.

Grammar

Quite similar to English with a few exceptions. Some pronouns have several forms (“zij” and “ze” for “they”, “wij” and “we” for “we”, etc) and nouns have gender. Articles can also be a bit different. “Een” is “a”/”an”, and pronounced similar to “an”. However, the definite article, “the” is either “de” or “het” in Dutch. The rules don’t seem clear for these, so they just have to be remembered. Verb conjugation seems fairly straightforward, though.

Overall Impression

I found it easy to remember the words and grammar, and could translate the very simple introductory sentences into English quite easily. I retained the vocabulary pretty well, and needed little review. I think pronunciation will need the most work. I enjoyed Dutch, and look forward to learning it. I believe I’ll be able to learn it quickly, compared to some other languages.

Have you studied Dutch? Are you interested in it? Let me know in the comments below.

So Excited About No Man’s Sky, I Have to Mention it Again

I’ve talked about this game before. No Man’s Sky is a massive game consisting of billions of unique planets with billions of unique plants and animals, and you can travel all around the galaxy discovering and exploring. There’s piracy, battles, trading, or just plain exploring. Here’s a video I saw on Cobra TV’s YouTube channel.

There are more videos on their channel about No Man’s Sky.

What we didn’t know about last time I talked about this game is that there’s now a release date. It’ll be available in June 2016 for Sony Playstation 4 and PC. I think I may be exploring a galaxy next summer. I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited about a game before. I’ll probably post about it again sometime next year.

Anyone interested in this game?

Where Can You Find Me?

All of you who are subscribers of my blog can find me in your newsfeed or in email notifications. However, you can also find me in many other places. And I don’t just mean social media.

So, where can you find me? First, let’s look at the social media sites.

I’m very active in two places, though I do update in several social media sites. First is Twitter. I have more than 3,000 followers there, and I find it a quick way to talk to people. I check it several times a day, so if you ever want to talk to me there, that’s a good place. So, please follow me on Twitter! Second is Facebook. I have a Facebook page for this blog, and I update there whenever I update this blog, but it’s also a good place to get in touch with me. I only have 61 people following me there, but I’d love to have more. If you haven’t done so, please like my Facebook page.

I also update regularly on a couple others. First is Google Plus. There, I have 67 followers, so it’s not a lot. But if you’re on there, please add me to your circles. And then there’s Pinterest. All of my posts go up there in different categories. I have 30 followers, though they’re mostly friends and family. But you’re very welcome to follow me there!

Outside of social media, there are several websites where I’m active. First is YouTube. I have a channel there, and I really think you should subscribe. I have 42 subscribers at the moment, and I have a large number of videos coming soon. So, please go over and subscribe.

I’m also on Goodreads, and I’m always updating my reading there. I have a lot of books, so you can see what I like and what I want to read. Once I’ve published a book, I’ll be using it a lot more. So, go on over and become a friend.

And finally, I’m regularly at Critique Circle, where I participate in the forums and put works in progress up for critiquing. I also critique stories. I have a free plan, so I can add friends, however, I can add you as a favourite. So, come on over and add me as a favourite author, then send me a message. I’ll add you back.

I’m looking forward to seeing you on many of those websites. Are you members of them? Which ones? If you want others to follow you, go ahead and leave links to your profiles in the comments below.