Looking for a Writing Competition in 2016?

2016 is the year I become much more serious about my writing. After moving to Canada, I want to focus on Ariadne and get as much done as possible. However, there is a possibility I may join a writing contest. I found this list of contests on the Almond Press website.

Some of them are free, but most you have to pay to enter. There are some good sized prizes available. The very first one catches my eye, actually. It’s only 750 words, though it closes on January 15th. It’s very soon. The grand prize is €50, which isn’t a huge amount, but it’s something. I may give it a try.

Although many say International, the one by Readers Digest is only open to the UK and Ireland. Another has a prize of a four day holiday in Provence. Interesting! And then there’s the one that’s held every month, the 99 Words contest, which has no monetary prize, just your story getting published on their site.

Do any of these contests catch your eye? Do you know of any other writing competitions? Let me know in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “Looking for a Writing Competition in 2016?”

  1. I tried the Writer’s Digest Self-Published one last year. No go. I really need to try and enter some. I might try it again with this new book I am writing, I think the deadline is April 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply

