Extreme Learning

I hadn’t heard of the term “Extreme Learners” before, and was curious about what it was. There’s a website for it, actually. Extreme learners go beyond the traditional ways of learning. They take charge of how they learn. They even do their own research, book time at labs, create their own curriculum, and do whatever they can to learn. From what I’ve read, they are not geniuses. They are not gifted. They’re just extremely ambitious about learning, and will do whatever they can to learn.

I wondered if I could ever be an extreme learner. I mean, I’m always interested in learning something new. I’ve taken online courses, I’ve been looking at languages a lot recently, and I’m constantly reading up about science. What I haven’t done is gone out and done my own research in the field. I could, though. That might be fun.

But could I be an extreme learner? Perhaps. Do I have the time to do it? I don’t think so. But whenever I have the time, I do my best to learn something new. I guess you could say I’m a student for life. If I could, I’d go back to university and study something new, probably a major in geology and a minor in Japanese. I often think that’s what I should have studied. But who knows? It may be possible.

Would you ever try to be an extreme learner? Do you enjoy learning new things? And would you ever go back to school? Let me know in the comments.

11 thoughts on “Extreme Learning”

  1. This is a very interesting post. I went back to school at age 50, finished up at about 65 or so. Loved every minute of it (mostly) and finished up Associates degree, BA, MA, and all-but-dissertation. Latin American History I really enjoy your blog…and share your love of encyclopedias. 🙂

  2. I am a liberal-artsy type and enjoy learning about a large range of subjects. I would not try to be an extreme learner, though, as I wouldn’t be able to devote that kind of time to it and maintain my personal obligations and relationships. I have considered going back to school, mostly recently for a graduate degree in Fine Arts, concentrating in poetry, but I think it is unlikely. While I was a very good student in my younger years, I wouldn’t relish going back to exams and jumping through academic hoops.

    1. I’d go back to school to get a degree in geology, I think. It fits in well with my main interest in astronomy, planetary sciences. But also very useful for a variety of industries.

Leave a Reply

