Week in Review – January 9, 2016

I seem to be missing a week. Well, last week, I wasn’t home. I couldn’t make the week in review post. So, this is the two week in review post! It’s a long one. With the new year holidays, I posted a lot. Well, here we go! What did you miss? Probably a lot, if you’ve been on holiday!

This week’s (and last week’s) posts

Starting off the week, I posted some Instagram photos for you to vote on. They’re getting better all the time. If you haven’t voted, please go! Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 27.

Next is a post that is full of happiness and cuteness. I had the Best Conversation with My Daughter Ever. What a talk we had. You have to read it.

I announced my plans for the New Year in terms of blogging. It’s A New Year Live Blog. And of course, it happened, and you’ll see the links further below.

My next post was number 1,500! So, I wrote My Post 1,500 Wishlist for 2016. There are a lot of things I want to happen this year.

Then, I gave a friendly reminder about my social media links and other websites I frequent in Where Can You Find Me? So, if you haven’t followed me on those sites, please do!

In So Excited About No Man’s Sky, I Have to Mention It Again, I am really excited about a space exploration game coming out in June this year. I really, really want it!

Continuing with the languages, I checked out a Germanic language. Find out what I thought in Test Driving Languages – Dutch.

I found something useful for those who love writing. Looking for a Writing Competition in 2016? Check these out.

We got potato chips! Interesting Flavours, actually.  Some of them kind of unusual. Ever heard of these flavours before?

Our move to Canada is coming soon. I talked about plans in Ninety Days to Canada. Hard to believe we’re leaving Japan.

In my final post of 2015, I took A Look Back at 2015. There are stats, including WordPress’s annual report. And who were my top commenters? They commented so many times!

And now, the live blog begins! Here’s the first part: A New Year in Japan – Pre-dawn.

In part 2, we saw the sunrise! A New Year in Japan – Sunrise at Enoshima.

Going ahead to part 3, we had breakfast. A surprising breakfast. A New Year in Japan – Poutine for Breakfast!

After that, I had a completely automated post pop up in the middle of my live blog. It was Authors Answer 61 – A Look at 2016. Since I wasn’t home for it, I had to schedule it. Find out what we’re all doing for 2016.

Now, back to the live blog that was rudely interrupted. This time, we’re on the move in part 4. A New Year in Japan – On the Train.

In part 5, we have arrived at our destination and had lunch. A New Year in Japan – Traditional Food for Lunch.

In part 6, we had our first temple visit of the year. A New Year in Japan – Hatsumode.

And then in the final part of the day, part 7, we had dinner. A New Year in Japan – The Feast.

The next day, we had a pretty busy day. Here is part 8. A New Year in Japan – Day Two Begins With More Family.

In part 9, we visited another temple, but I also got my fortune. A New Year in Japan – A Temple Visit with Luck?

Then, in part 10, we ate more! It seems we ate a lot. A New Year in Japan – A Fried Japanese Dinner.

On the third day, in part 11, I looked at a tree outside my wife’s grandmother’s house. Very interesting and unusual. A New Year in Japan – Two Trees or One?

In part 12, we’re on our way home, and we stopped briefly at the busiest train station in the world! A New Year in Japan – A Break at Shinjuku Station.

And finally, the live blogging ends in part 13, another train ride! A New Year in Japan – Taking the Romance Car Home.

Then, I talked about some more specific goals for 2016 in Back to Normal? Short and Long Term Goals. Find out what I plan to do.

If you are new to this blog, I want you to go to this blog post. Even if you aren’t new to this blog, go to this post. Give me your answer. And share it! Share as much as you can! I want lots of answers for this question: What Is Your Country’s Best Literature?

Although a little bit late, I did get this post done: Month in Review – December 2015. It was a slow month. But so far, January 2016 is much busier!

I was asked to take part in a podcast, the Just Japan Podcast. At the time of this post, I had just done the interview, so it wasn’t available yet.

On Monday, we walked 17 km. I took a lot of pictures. Enjoy the pictures in A Journey on Foot – Exploring. And there was some good Indian food, too!

I then asked another book-related question. Lots of comments there! So, please join the conversation: Do Book Covers Matter to You?

On Tuesday, we went walking again. 19 km! We visited a temple, where it was so busy, it was like a festival. Again, lots of pictures, so please enjoy Another Walk – Unexpected Festivities.

And then very quickly, the podcast was up! Go read I’m a Guest on the Just Japan Podcast! and then listen to the interview.

Next up is our weekly Authors Answer. This time, there were some very interesting answers. I loved reading what everyone had to say. Head on over to Authors Answer 62 – Our Favourite Created Characters.

Looking at languages and literature together, I asked Are Constructed Languages Legitimate? Join the discussion and let me know what you think.

I did another language test drive, this time a Romance language. Find out what I thought of Portugal and Brazil’s language in Test Driving Languages – Portuguese.

And finally, a little bit of knowledge and fun with some animal sounds. That includes the fox. Find out the answer to What Does the _____ Say?

Reading

I finished The Dragon Reborn by Robert Jordan and started another book. I am now 8% into Mercury, by Ben Bova. It’s the first of his books I’ve ever read. As for Keepers of Water, I’m now 27% done.

Languages

I did test drives of Dutch and Portuguese, and made some progress on French. No going up in levels, though.

Canada

Just some worries about my wife’s visa. We really hope it comes before we leave for Canada. Otherwise, there could be complications.

Studying

I’m starting a new online course through FutureLearn. It’s only a four week course about Orion, which includes star formation, exoplanets, and more. Just some basic astronomy, so shouldn’t be much new for me.

That’s all for this week. That was a long post! So, please check out the posts you’ve missed. Over the next week, I should get some series going, especially Quick Facts, and also get a review or two up. Look forward to those!

How was your week?

5 thoughts on “Week in Review – January 9, 2016”

  1. Wow! A busy two weeks! I don’t post nearly as often as you, although I have been posting daily linked to Linda’s Just Jot It January. I also had a poem published this week in Eunoia Review, so I have been doing publicity for it through my social media connections.

        1. Expect some blog posts as we move. I’ll probably have a lot of pictures during the first week in Canada. We’ll be traveling around a bit, but staying at relatives’ homes, and they should all have wi-fi.

Leave a Reply

