Sundog and Unusual Clouds

Yesterday, I was able to see a great phenomenon known as a sundog. These things are part of a halo around the sun and created by hexagonal ice crystals in the air, usually with cirrus clouds. Well, there were plenty of cirrus clouds yesterday. This sundog that I saw was rainbow coloured, though it didn’t turn out very well in the picture. You can see it below.

20160128-204820-74900319.jpg
Sundog in the cirrus clouds.

And cirrus clouds are interesting to look at, too. They have a lot of patterns, like waves or feathers. I got some pictures of those, too.

20160128-204904-74944314.jpg
Rippled cirrus clouds.
20160128-204918-74958307.jpg
Rippled and feathery cirrus clouds.
20160128-204931-74971340.jpg
Fluffy cirrus clouds on the right, wispy cirrus clouds behind the building and in front of the sun.

Have you ever seen a sundog? Cirrus clouds are pretty common, but you have to be lucky to see a sundog.

28 thoughts on “Sundog and Unusual Clouds”

  1. great photos…I had the weird feeling that “hey, I saw that cloud…” briefly. I saw a Moon Dog once…I was a mile or so from my house and saw it, looked like the moon sitting on top of the sun, which was low in the sky…I rushed home to tell my husband, but the phenomenon had passed by the time I could…he did know what it was, though. 🙂

      1. I think so. It was my husband who said it was a moon dog, and he knew everything LOL it was slightly overcast and looked like a small ball sitting on top of a bigger one…i.e. the moon on the sun. He didn’t see it because by time I got home it had faded or disappeared.

          1. I missed a wonderful shot…the sky was covered with almost square patches of cirrus clouds…I never saw anything like it. I didn’t have my camera as I had just run down the road on an errand…even as I was inside the building (less than a minute) when I came out the clouds had scattered, and when I got home where my camera was–well, you know. Ironically, when I pointed out the remarkable sky formation to someone I got a “duh” reaction.

  2. Reblogged this on SOMETIMES and commented:
    I LOVE clouds, and all kinds of atmospheric wonders. This is a super site, and as another person who reads encyclopedias, I really enjoy it. Thanks for the RE-BLOG availability…Jay Dee. 🙂

  3. Sundogs are really neat. The halo around the sun is really neat too. If you’re lucky you’ll see one that goes all the way around. And a halo around the moon indicates rain or snow is coming 🙂

    1. I’ve seen a halo around the moon in summer. Around here, it’s so humid in the evening and night that it doesn’t necessarily mean rain is coming. It’s just that humid.

        1. Yeah. I guess it’s different for different places. We don’t get big cumulonimbus clouds here. That’s something I miss about the prairies in Canada. The clouds are impressive.

Leave a Reply

