Flash Fiction Weekly Series

Anyone remember What Will You Write? I’d mentioned that I wanted to bring it back eventually. Well, it sort of is coming back, but I want to run the idea I have for it by you first.

First of all, it will probably be under a different name. It’ll be competitive, and I want the name to reflect that.

Second, my idea for this is to have it as a weekly feature. With the success of Authors Answer, I’d like to ask for a group of people to submit weekly flash fiction of only 100 words. That’s much shorter than the original What Will You Write? And with only 100 words, it’s easier to write something every week.

Third, the group of people that will be writing will be the same each week. For this, I want those people to be absolutely sure they can submit something every week. I haven’t decided how many people will be able to participate, but I don’t think there’ll be a maximum. However, I’d like to keep the same group of people for a month at a time. Every month, new people can join and those who wish to stop participating can stop.

Finally, the way it will work is as follows. The participants will submit their stories to me by email. I will post the stories without their names in a post that contains a poll.Β  Anyone can vote in the poll for the story they like the best. This will be completely anonymous so that the participants have a fair chance of winning that week. Every week, I will post the stories with the winner or top three, and link back to the original post, which will have been edited with the authors’ names included. The following day, the new round starts.

Every month, I’ll write a spotlight post featuring the month’s winners, and at the end of a full year, I’ll post a ranking of all the winners. The top winner may receive something, but I have no idea what it would be at the moment.

I’d like to hear what you think. If you’re interested in participating in something like this, let me know in the comments. When I start this, I will make an announcement for people to apply to participate. If you leave a comment here, it’s not an official application, but I will do my best to try to contact you when it’s starting to see if you’re still interested. It will likely start in spring, after my move to Canada.

For everyone else, I’d like some feedback about this. What do you think? Any suggestions? Please leave a comment with your thoughts.

18 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Weekly Series”

  1. I think it’s a great idea. I want to start writing fiction again – I’ve written at least a Haiku every day this year so far on my fiction blog. Hundred word stories I could do easily, so I’d be interested. I’d make more of an effort to get them done ahead of time also. πŸ˜‰
    Do you propose to create prompts for these stories? If so, I find making completely open-ended prompts the easiest to work with. If you’ve looked at my own prompts you’ll see that I use a single word to get people going. From what I’ve seen over the past two years, allowing the imagination to revolve around one word has amazing results, not just in myself but everyone who has participated.
    One word of caution though: If you post the stories here, the authors will not be able to post their stories on their own blogs. The duplicate postings by guest authors on their own blogs are what led OM to be accused of plagiarism, stupidly enough. Reblogs are, however, fine.
    I think the initial blind vote is a wonderful idea! Please let me know when you intend to start. πŸ™‚

    1. There will be prompts. I want them to be open-ended. It’s great to see what people can get out of them.

      As for the plagiarism issue, I’m going to be writing a disclaimer for each post that features the writing passages. I will link to their blogs, also stating that I have their permission to post the stories, and that they completely own the stories. And I think I’ll be asking them to wait until the vote is finished to post the stories to their own blogs, which I will also link to from the blog post.

      I’ll probably start this around May, I think.

      1. I don’t think a disclaimer will help. OM’s guest posters posted their own work themselves and were still flagged for plagiarism of their own work. Anyway, you might want to talk to Jason about it directly.

        1. I’ll have to see about that. A mutual link and statement between both parties should theoretically be enough. Legally, too. Unless it gets published, then I’d have to remove it from the post. Which makes me wonder, how many people actually publish 100 word stories?

  2. Oh count me in please… I have so neglected my writing since I started on my doll journey and I have only just started to realise how much I miss it.

    I used to do a lot of 100 word prompts and love the challenge of trying to whittle out those last three or four words…xx

  3. I’m currently working on a 100 word story series for Friday Fictioneers. If my series comes to an end, or I give up on it, I would totally be in for something like this. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

