I’m Cold, and It’s Killing My Creativity

Ever feel like you just don’t want to do anything? Or you want to do something, but you don’t want to put in the effort? That’s how I feel right now. Of course, I managed to push myself to write this blog post, but my mind doesn’t seem to want to think about much at the moment.

The problem? I’m cold. It’s cold in my apartment. But that’s the way homes are in Japan during winter. Insulation isn’t very good and there’s no central heating. Our heat source is an air conditioner. It dries the air, so gives us sore throats if we use it during the night. So, I’m sitting here on the sofa with my feet off the floor. And I’m cold. It took a lot of effort just to reach over to my keyboard and type this. Sometimes, this is how I feel in winter here. I don’t want to move. I just want to cover myself up and remain immobile. I don’t want to leave bed in the morning, either.

When I was a kid, and it was cold, I’d always lie down on the floor or sofa wrapped up in an afghan. It helped keep me warm while I enjoyed watching TV or doing something else. But now, I live in an apartment that has wood floors that get cold in winter. I don’t want to be down there on the floor.

Cold is my kryptonite. It makes me shut down. I’m from Canada. Some Canadian, huh?

What keeps you from doing what you want? Share your personal motivation killer in the comments below.

20 thoughts on “I’m Cold, and It’s Killing My Creativity”

    1. I try not to move when I’m cold, though I actively seek heat sources. I stand in the kitchen while cooking. We have a heated toilet seat. The shower tries to keep me from leaving.

      1. I feel your pain. We live in a 113 year old farmhouse. My wife used to say it was like living in a colander. New windows, insulation, etc helped, but its still cold in the Winter. Think warm thoughts!!! 🙂

        1. Wow. I don’t think I’ve ever been inside a farmhouse that old. The building I live in was built in the 21st century, but the Japanese still haven’t figured out that insulation works perfectly fine in a humid climate.

  1. If I don’t have a handy cup of tea/hot chocolate/coffee nearby, I have a dog small enough to curl up on my lap while I’m writing. We keep each other warm!

  2. They make warm fuzzy slippers so your feet don’t have to touch the floor 🙂 If I don’t feel like doing something I just say the kids sucked the motivation outta me.

  3. I’m not great with heat, but I have an evaporative cooler for those broiling 40C days. And a bright dry heat is do-able, there’s always shade and stillness or water. What is worse is heat and humidity, it saps everything: strength, energy, the will to live. Other than a iffy knee and tennis elbow that complains about typing occassionally, it’s all good. What really gets in the way of writing, is me, and the rest of my life:)

    1. Summers here in Japan are hot and humid, so I can understand a little. However, I find the cold to be far more difficult to endure than muggy weather. At least I’m not trying to curl up in a ball and resist any kind of movement while I’m hot.

Leave a Reply

