Week in Review – February 6, 2016

Let me just start off by saying that the view stats for this month have been incredibly high. What is going on? The amount of activity shot up so much, I’m surprised it’s actually managing to stay high all week (except for one day). Thanks everyone! So, let’s find out what else is happening this week.

Reading

I finished reading Mercury by Ben Bova today. And I’ll be starting The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis tomorrow. It’s a pretty short book, so I should finish it quickly. Keepers of Water is now at 37%, which is a slight increase.

Writing

Nothing to report, as I’m not planning on writing anything until after we’ve settled in at our new home in Canada. However, my mind is constantly thinking about what I’m planning to write, and I keep having new ideas.

Languages

I caught up on my French studies, as I’d been neglecting it a bit. I’m going to start moving forward on that. I also plan on doing a Test Drive of Welsh soon. I still need to learn Cyrillic for Ukrainian and Russian.

Canada

Lots done this week with making sure our utilities and insurance are cancelled when we move out late next month. Next thing to do is to work on cleaning and packing. We have to send another set of boxes to Canada. More books to pack up! Also, I’m going to start looking for a new job soon. Must brush up my resume. This is one thing that I’m not looking forward to. I’m not sure what the current style for resumes is in Canada.

Videos

I made another video, but it was just a quick one showing a mejiro (or Japanese white-eye) in a blooming plum tree. It’s only been viewed 4 times! Check it out.

The Blog

I’ve got another thing starting up. I’m going to start doing blog responses to posts on other blogs and linking back to the original post. I think some people misunderstood in the post I made earlier today about this. I will be writing new posts based on the original post’s topic. I will be replying to it. Not a comment, not a reblog. But an entirely new blog post.

Studying

Nothing happening here. I should have more time after going to Canada. In fact, I’ll be taking a course about teaching English, so I can get my CELTA certification.

The Next Week’s Goals

I’m going to continue exploring other people’s blogs, commenting on them, and subscribing to them. I want to expand my blog network a lot, and hopefully make some new friends in the process. I’m also hoping to get the delayed Top Ten post done, as well as get a Quick Facts post up. And maybe a video.

How was your week? Any big plans for the next week?

16 thoughts on “Week in Review – February 6, 2016”

  1. Sounds like you are super busy!!!! Makes me think I need to be doing more, other than laying on the couch watching “Dexter” with my boys in the evening. Perhaps clean out a closet or two. Write more, that’s what I should be doing. I think I am in a winter slump.
    Congratulations on the increase in your views!!!! That’s great!!!!

    1. I sometimes think winter is my time for slumping because I don’t want to do anything, but it seems that my blog becomes busier every winter. Not sure why that happens.

            1. They are great, especially in winter. I wouldn’t say our home is fancy, just modern. We have an electronic system for hot water, too. We control the temperature for the entire apartment, as well as the shower and bathtub.

  2. I will be interested to hear what you think of The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. I didn’t read it until I was an adult when we read it with our daughters when they were young.

    I’ve been working on some of my poetry from my residency in November, which will go into my collection. I am also getting another series submission ready for Silver Birch Press.

    1. This is my first time reading it, actually. I’ve seen the movie, and it’s making the reading experience interesting. But I don’t feel the suspense I should. Almost finished reading it. Very quick read.

      Good luck with your submission. Hopefully your collection will sell well 🙂

      1. All seven of the Narnia books are quick reads – and very allegorical.

        Thanks for your well wishes. If my collection gets published eventually, though, it is guaranteed to not have much for sales. Even winners of the National Book Award for poetry don’t sell much compared to fiction. It’s just the nature of the enterprise.

            1. I wouldn’t be surprised. I’ve heard there are New York Times bestselling authors (fiction) who make less than some self-published authors. Royalties are pretty small for traditionally published authors.

            2. Yeah, I think that’s difficult to get. Michael J. Sullivan, who started off as an indie author got one of those rare advances from a big publishing house. Last I saw, he’d sold nearly a million books.

Leave a Reply

