Focusing on Esperanto

Flag_of_Esperanto.svgI read something today that had me pretty convinced to work on learning Esperanto. But why Esperanto? Some people might say it’s not a real language. However, it is a real language that was originally created to become an international language that could bridge the gap between countries.

Esperanto is a very easy language to learn. You can become proficient in it in a fraction of the time it would take you to learn other languages. It’s easy to understand after only a few hours of study. It’s great for people who are fluent in Germanic and Romance languages, since it draws from those two language groups the most.

The thing that had me convinced is that it actually helps people learn other languages faster. While Esperanto may not be the most practical language to learn, it helps you with many fundamentals of European languages, and it makes it easier to learn them. So, why not take the time to learn Esperanto and cut the time to learn other languages?

I’m going to go for it. While I’m studying French and Spanish, I’m going to also work on Esperanto. This should be fun!

Anyone interested in studying Esperanto?

7 thoughts on “Focusing on Esperanto”

  1. My view is that learning any language is worth doing, although life is simply too short to learn them all. We need to ask ourselves which language we are learning and why. Learn Mandarin, and you’re tongue –tied in Japan. Learn Portuguese and you can’t even ask for a loaf of bread in Germany. Learn Arabic and you are reduced to miming in Russia. The obvious solution would be to make wider use of Esperanto, which is well-established as a good introduction to learning languages.

    Esperanto works! I’ve used it in speech and writing in about twenty countries over recent years. I recommend it to any traveller, as a way of making friendly local contacts. Over 300,000 people have signed on for the new Duolingo Esperanto course in the last six months.

    1. One of those 300,000 people is me. I view Esperanto as a good learner language. Not always practical for communication, but good as a bridge to other languages.

      I would learn other languages for specific purposes. I study Japanese because I live in Japan, have a Japanese wife, and my daughter will be bilingual. I study French because I’m from Canada, and it’s useful to have French if I go to Quebec or wish to work for the government. I study Spanish because I want to travel in Spanish speaking countries. I want to study Norwegian because I want to understand certain TV shows from Norway and to learn my grandmother’s native tongue. And I want to study Russian because we’re trying to research my grandfather’s family history in Russia.

Leave a Reply

