Support Science, Fight Ignorance, Promote Education

If you’re new to this blog, you’ll know that I’m a big supporter of education and science. In December, I wrote a series of Mission Statements for my blog, and I touched on some of these topics. I would like to make a stronger statement about what I believe and know.

Support Science

Physics, chemistry, biology, and geology are all very important for our daily lives. Physics is used in engineering and electricity. Chemistry is used to create all the household goods we need to use. Biology is used in medicine. Geology helps us with raw materials for manufacturing. They’re all very important, and unfortunately, scientific illiteracy has made many people think they’re unimportant. Without science, we don’t have technology, health care, TV shows, or smartphones.

Fight Ignorance

Evolution is a fact. Climate change is happening. Vaccines work. I am against anti-evolution. I am against climate change deniers. I am against the anti-vaccination movement. I am against ignorance.

Promote Education

We must fight against ignorance through better science education. We must help people understand the basics of science and know that what we study is actually not some “belief.” Education is extremely important, and science is the backbone of modern society. Without technology, it wouldn’t work. Without education, we can’t maintain the technology or improve it. We need innovation.

So, please support science and education. Don’t support ignorance. Who’s with me?

13 thoughts on “Support Science, Fight Ignorance, Promote Education”

  1. I’m with you. In my own life, understanding biology has been important as we have had to deal with many family health issues. I also use my geology and environmental science background often and do my part to educate others about climate/environmental science.

      1. I have done a lot of commentary on climate issues as part of the fracking fight in NY, which expanded into national advocacy on renewable energy and fighting climate change. At the moment, I am facilitating a study of Pope Francis’s encyclical with the spirituality group at my church.

        1. You’re keeping busy. I haven’t gotten involved in anything outside of work or my own blogging/writing. I’d like to become more active in the community when we move to Canada, though.

Leave a Reply

