40 Days Until Canada – We’re Getting a Car!

One thing my wife and I have discussed a lot is what kind of car to get when we are living in Canada. We’ve focused on mainly Japanese cars, and many of the cars we’re interested in are available in Canada (although under a different name in some cases). I recorded a video talking about this. Take a look.

If you’re interested in seeing what the cars are, here are videos for reviews. First up is the Honda Fit.

And next is the Mazda3 (Mazda Axela in Japan).

And here’s our final possible lease, the Nissan Versa Note (Nissan Note in Japan).

Looking down the road, after a couple years of leasing, here are the cars we’ve been talking about buying. First is the Toyota Prius c (Toyota Aqua in Japan). This review is for the 2015 model. It’s been redesigned for 2016. Just a note about this car, it is actually not a Prius. Very different car.

Next is the Honda HR-V (or Honda Vezel in Japan).

And the Subaru XV Crosstrek (simply the Subaru XV in Japan).

And finally, the Subaru Forester. This is the 2015 model in the video.

I need to test drive the cars to come to any conclusion. I’m actually reasonably impressed by the Mazda3, as well as the Subaru Crosstrek.

What do you think? Let me know if you have any suggestions or have any opinions about these cars.

 

9 thoughts on “40 Days Until Canada – We’re Getting a Car!”

  1. I have a Smart fastback turbo roadster called Alfie, if you want advice on which one to buy from me; and I have to say it’s not something I am asked for often, I believe it best to start with what you don’t want and work up. A Mercedes Cls wouldbe a superb car. πŸ˜‡ “jus sayin”” :@

  2. I like hatchback style-cars. I’ve driven the Honda Fit and the Nissan Versa as rentals and they were quite good. I know a couple of people who own Subaru Foresters and they swear by them.

    1. After watching the car reviews all the way through (except the Forester), I’m very interested in the Mazda3 and Subaru Crosstrek. The Fit, I like. But the Versa Note seems to have a lack of interior quality finish. Too much hard plastic.

    1. I was never a fan of the RAV4. I know Corollas are popular, though. Most cars built for Japan are fine for Canadian winters. They get really cold weather in northern Japan. But they need to have a block heater, of course.

Leave a Reply

