Saying Goodbye

Today, it felt like everything was real. The move to Canada feels more real than ever. You see, I had to say goodbye to some students I’ve been teaching for several months. And this isn’t going to be the last time. It’s just beginning.

Whether it’s only a few months or several years, I have a lot of people to say goodbye to. I didn’t really know how I would feel about this, but now I do. It doesn’t feel good. It was difficult to say goodbye. I’ve met so many wonderful people in my job teaching English, and there are many I’ve been teaching for five and a half years. There are also some I have known longer, but haven’t taught recently. I won’t have the chance to properly say goodbye to them.

I’ll be saying goodbye to more coworkers, friends, and students over the coming four weeks. I’m finishing at one school next week, but I’ll be at four others next month. I feel some regret that I won’t be able to say goodbye to the students I’d taught for more than five years on Saturdays. But I’ll try keep in touch with some of them.

Eleven years in Japan is coming to an end soon. It’s such a strange feeling. I know it’s real, and it’s feeling real. I’ve been doing the same job for a long time now, so looking for another job is a daunting task. I know what I want to do. I have four jobs I want to go for, but I’ll have to see what’s available. I made a video about this. Watch it below.

Finishing this job and looking for a new one is pretty bittersweet. I started teaching English with a feeling of nervousness. I had no idea how to handle children. Now, it’s not an issue. I actually enjoy teaching kids now. I originally planned to stay in Japan for a year or two, but as time went on, I really enjoyed my job. My personal life changed a lot, but my job was constant. But with the end near and so many goodbyes to be said, this is the worst part of leaving Japan. I’m going to miss it. I’ll miss a lot of people.

I hope to someday see some of my old students again when we visit Japan. There are some old students I need to see before we leave. There are friends and coworkers I need to meet. I’m pretty sure I’ll see them again, someday.

This chapter of my life is coming to a close, but there’s an exciting new one starting soon. But I’ll never forget my amazing time in Japan. More than a quarter of my life. It’s a very large part of me now.

21 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye”

  1. Goodbyes are so bittersweet. I remember saying goodbye to friends where we lived in Virginia before moving to Canada. Though I was only moving to another country, not a different continent, I knew many of them I may not see again or it would be a long time before I did.

    1. One thing that I get to do by moving back to Edmonton is seeing all my old friends from school. Most of them are still there. Some classmates moved away, as well. One went to England, one to New York, a couple to Texas, one to Montreal, and recently one to Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

