Canada Seems Foreign to Me

After eleven years in Japan, Canada feels like a foreign country to me. It’s familiar, but I’ve become used to Japan. Here are some things that will feel strange to me:

1. Everything is so wide open. Many wide streets, open spaces, and even significant gaps between houses.

2. Staff in shops talk to customers.

3. No temples or shrines.

4. Convenience stores aren’t convenient.

5. Less efficient public transportation system.

6. No bento, or prepared meals, in convenience stores.

7. I’ll hear and see English everywhere! A total lack of Japanese.

8. Japanese food will be different. Edo Japan is more Chinese than Japanese.

9. No variety shows on TV like Japan.

10. Toilets are in bathrooms, instead of separate rooms.

There’s more, and I’m sure I’ll be talking about them on video after we’ve moved to Canada.

Ever return to your home country after living in another country for a while and find things a bit strange? Let me know in the comments below.

12 thoughts on “Canada Seems Foreign to Me”

  1. I remember spending three months in Italy many years ago. I could speak Italian before I left but by the time I came home I was fluent. And virtually hadn’t spoken much English since I’d left having spent most of my time around my relatives. I found myself practically thinking in Italian!

    1. I’ve found myself thinking some Japanese words instead of English. I’ve forgotten English words while teaching, and could only think of the Japanese words.

    1. Ugh. I don’t want that. But then, we have cold toilet seats in public washrooms all over the place in Japan, especially in older bulidings. I don’t have access to warm toilet seats where I work.

  2. Haha! When I first moved back to The States after living in Germany for almost 3 years, I forgot how to pump gas. XD My husband had, too. We could not remember that you have to swipe your card before you can pump.

    1. I’m not sure how to pump gas in Canada…weird. I haven’t pumped gas in Japan, either. Whenever I’ve had to get gas, it was full service.

Leave a Reply

