Science Sunday – A Year in Space

Continuing this ongoing weekly series, I share a major science news story from the past week, but I let the video tell the story.

This week, American astronaut Scott Kelly and Russian cosmonaut Mikhail Kornienko returned to Earth after spending 340 days on the International Space Station. This mission is especially interesting because Kelly’s twin brother, Mark Kelly, was down here on Earth, and they’re comparing the changes in Scott’s body with his twin. This mission was a year-long experiment to help prepare for the upcoming manned Mars mission. You can read NASA’s story on this mission here.

The video is a bit long, but it shows you the return of Kelly and Kornienko to Earth.

Scott Kelly says that he has mixed feelings about the end of the mission. I can understand that, having mixed feelings about our move to Canada. He’s lived on the station for nearly a year, and it had become his home.

Comments are greatly appreciated! Would you consider spending a year, or even just a month, in space? Let me know in the comments below.

19 thoughts on “Science Sunday – A Year in Space”

      1. First I’d fly and check out being weightless. Then I’d check out all the experiments going on up there. I’d eat astronaut food. Pee in the vacuum thing. And whatever else they do up there 🙂

  1. Hi, Jay Dee!
    I like talking about outerspace.
    Especially, when I introduce my name
    to Russian people, they say
    “Oh! Yuri! Like Yuri Gagarin!”

    To be in space sounds fun,
    however, I don’t wish to stay
    so long.
    One reason is physical problem.
    To keep muscles strong, you have
    to train hard in the ISS. Also,
    you get radiation a lot. It is not
    healthy to stay in space.

    Second reason is mental one.
    One astronaut recently said
    “Astronauts say the earth is
    beautiful but, to me, I was shocked
    to see that the rest is just black.
    Most of parts are simply black.”
    Space life looks so fun but, maybe
    many parts are too simple and boring,

    One month travel sounds fun.
    If I told to stay longer,
    like “Because of population problem,
    people in Kanagawa prefecture should
    stay in a space colony.”, Okay, I may
    stay three months.
    One year? Too long! I will suffer from claustrophobia in the ISS or any colony.

    There are some more points
    that I don’t want to stay in space.
    For me, astronauts are great challengers. I think they know
    about bad aspects of space life.
    I respect them. They try to spend
    happy lives in space and tell about
    it to people. And they do many
    experiments, worthy to the human
    future.
    This is my thoughts on stay in space.
    Actually, I am thinking to listen to Japanese Astronaut Kimiya Yui’s story in Tokyo!

    1. Hi Yuri! Thanks for commenting. I understand a lot of your concerns about it. I think if there were a large colony with a lot of open space, people with claustrophobia wouldn’t have a problem.

      One thing I’ve heard is that sometimes, they have a rather monotonous job on the ISS at times. Just conducting experiments and making sure they’re running with little downtime. They’re extremely busy, though.

  2. I would volunteer so hard to spend a year in space! Attach electrodes or whatever else to my whole body upon my return – I don’t care – I would relish it if it meant I lived in freaking space. 😀

    1. I have hopes of going to space as a tourist, if it’s not too expensive. My wife even asked me why I didn’t apply for the astronaut job recently. Because it’s Americans only and half of them are to go to Mars. I’m not willing to put myself at that kind of risk.

  3. I doubt I could withstand that length of time in space, especially a year. Even someone in as good shape as Scott Kelly has been having a lot of trouble with re-acclimating to gravity. I’m sure my 55-year-old petite bones would dissolve into jelly! OK – not really, but it would hard to maintain skeletal integrity for someone my age and size.

    1. Anyone would have trouble getting used to gravity. But not just that, even his bones have lost a lot of strength. He has a lot of rehabilitation to go through.

      1. I know he has been having trouble with walking. Part of the reason it would be so great to have a fast way to get to and from Mars is that it would be so much less dangerous to bones and bodies.

        1. Yes, but I’d also like to see the development of rotating spacecraft that’ll simulate Earth gravity. That will eliminate the problem with bone density.

Leave a Reply

