How Am I? I’m Feeling Weird

You know that feeling when you have major life changes? The feeling that nothing is quite real? That’s how I feel now.

I felt that way when I started university, when I moved to Victoria, when I came to Japan, and when my daughter was born. Now that we’re moving to Canada, that feeling is back. It’s not unpleasant, but it’s a little unsettling. There’s a bit of the unknown, but I also feel that it’s completely surreal. It’s like a dream I’m waiting to wake up from.

Everywhere I go, things look and feel different than they used to. Now they feel temporary. Totally familiar, but things I’ll probably never see again. As my final days of work approach, I feel that way about all the places I’ve worked. Some more than others.

But I have to think about life as an adventure. Expect challenges and just go for it. Every challenge increases experience and helps gain skills. In a way, I’m about to move to a new level.

Thinking about it that way, this unreal feeling means life is an MMORPG. Since my last name is Archer, I must be a ranger. Now where’s my bow?

26 thoughts on “How Am I? I’m Feeling Weird”

  1. I’m a Wood. Does that make me a lumberjack? πŸ™‚ I’m guessing you’ll have that “unreal” feeling for a short bit after you move to Canada and get settled in. I know it. It’s not bad, just different.

    1. I’ve heard that returning to your home country is more difficult than leaving. The reverse culture shock is more intense, and sometimes confusing.

      Maybe you’re a wood carver or a woodchuck or something.

  2. It must feel a little bit like you’re in limbo. Finishing up in one place and heading to another. Such an adventure you’re heading into, the unknown is always unnerving. Great things are afoot for you.

    1. Thanks. I hope there are great things! I’m hoping to get my writing career going, as well as build an audience on YouTube. Those would be nice for some extra income. But I’m going to try go for a travel agent job. That would be perfect.

      1. I hope you achieve that travel agent job Jay Dee. A good friend of mine is in that line of work and she’s traveled the world extensively, she just loves it.

  3. I understand. It’s the feeling I got when graduated form university; and the time I went to Germany on a ship…alone; wedding day; leaving a place I was in only a short time, and starting down the mountain knowing probably never to return. πŸ™‚

          1. where there’s a will there’s a way…as they say … over-seas travel is expensive, I know, but planning a trip (even if it is a some-day trip…) keeps possibilities alive. πŸ™‚

            1. long ago I had a “Greece account,” in which I put miscellaneous moneys into for future travel…I (and the bank ladies) called it my Greece account. I never got to Greece, but did do lots of other destinations over the years. πŸ™‚

  4. My last name is Hill… …what does that make me?
    And yes, I know the feeling well. I think it’s a combination of fear (but not a wimpy kind of fear, more the same gathering of adrenaline that fear provokes) and excitement. Excitement which can actually cause an adrenaline spike.
    Conclusion: it’s a adrenaline. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

