Authors Answer 74 – What We Are Working On Now

Are you curious about what we’re writing? We’re all writing something, whether they’re novels or children’s books. We have some great things planned for you to read. I hope you really enjoy what we’re going to be publishing in the near future.

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 74 – Can you tell us about a future book that you’re working on?

S. R. Carrillo

I’m excited to be working on a futuristic, feminist, freaky, queer western set in the clouds where worlds are ruled by demons and horses are fueled by fire.

Elizabeth Rhodes

With my recent blending of crime and science fiction, I want to try more genre blending. How about sci-fi/romance? Bodice rippers in space? Sounds like fun. Stay tuned.

H. Anthe Davis

In the War of Memory Cycle, the protagonists have faced off against malevolent necromancers, fanatical armies, and even the direct focus of a wicked god!  But can they handle….high school?!  Coming next, Cob and his companions find themselves trapped on the idyllic campus of Firebird High, where the landscaper has claws and the chemistry teacher breathes acid!  Can they juggle study-hall, sleepovers, soccer championships and senior prom, all while hunting for a way home?  And what is that groaning that filters up from the school basement at night?  Does it have anything to do with the recent grave-robbings, and the dirt that Principal Enkhaelen tracks into the halls every morning?  Find out in…the War of Algebra!

Eric Wood

I just finished the manuscript for my next picture book. It’s about how a donkey and a giraffe become best friends. I don’t want to give too much away, but there is ninja training, a raccoon playing a ukulele, and a duck who thinks he’s a chameleon.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

Well, I’ve been thinking about taking a break from writing stuff like horror and fantasy, and maybe trying my hand at something a little more relatable. So I’m working on this romance novel… It’s a bit of a Romeo and Juliet plot in which an extremist feminist and a Men’s Rights activist fall in love when they meet at a protest. They’re totally willing to abandon their ideals for love, but their respective “families” are determined to keep them apart. I think it’s going to be a huge hit.

Jean Davis

Well I was skimming through the spam in my inbox a while back and I got this great idea to combine all the subject lines into a plot. So here goes: Billy the endangered elephant needs an enlargement to satisfy the females so he can save his kind but he needs cash. He has enslave the monkeys in the rainforest to pick all the acai berries to sell to the humans so they’ll do the surgery. Unfortunately, the prince of Nigeria takes all his hard earned money and sends it to an elderly woman in Minnesota to keep the elephants from voting in the next election. The only way Billy can get his money back is to convince the woman not to email the prince with her bank information. But can finish his online college language and typing classes in time to save the elephants from extinction and defeat the prince?

D. T. Nova

A team of trained apes engage in asymmetric warfare against a totalitarian government. The title is Gorilla Guerrilla.

Linda G. Hill

I’m working on a non-fiction book about how I’ve traveled the world to take each and every one of my WordPress followers out for coffee to convince them to follow me. The resulting restraining orders are in the hundreds, and yet real life being stranger than fiction, even some of those people are following me! The title of the book will be, I’ll Follow You ‘Til You Follow Me. It’s sure to be a best seller!!

Gregory S. Close

I’m currently putting the finishing touches on a new epic called The Dread Squirrel Prince Trilogy. Most epic fantasy has been told from the perspective of humans, or humanoids, with elves, dwarves and similar races.  I think that’s been played out.  Instead, I’ve tried to touch on themes and characters that are both different and immediately identifiable and relatable – the struggle of oppressed and downtrodden dogs against the Great Squirrel Empire.

The series will follow the rise of a Lab-mix named Sundance.  A pup with a good heart, he sometimes rushes in without thinking things through.  His mentor, an old wolfhound named Big Blue, is a drifter and a charlatan that once sniffed the butts of nobles and kings before falling into disfavor, and landing in exile in Sundance’s out of the way village, Barknuwwn.

Sundance and Big Blue will have to confront the truth of their destiny – hidden lineage, secret powers, a dark power rising again to threaten the last hope of peace for all dog kind, and the great evil behind it all… The Dread Squirrel Prince!

Paul B. Spence

I am currently working on a novel where a conservative millionaire with hateful rhetoric is running for president. An investigative journalist discovers that he is actually a reptilian alien in disguise and planning to plunge the most powerful nation in the world into chaos and civil strife to ease the way for an invasion by his people. The race is on: can the journalist get the information out there in time, or will life as we know it soon be over?

Too much like life?

Jay Dee Archer

I’ve kept this story under wraps for a while, but I thought this is a good time to unveil it.

In a post-apocalyptic world, humans have been reduced to animals, while others have moved on up in the order of intelligence. Birds have become the newest masters of the world, and with their superior intellect, have genetically engineered a super race of birds: the return of the dinosaurs. However, they are still quite small, and have developed robotic suits of armour the size of humans. The purpose? An evil mastermind, one of the rare humans who have retained their intellect, has plotted a second apocalypse against the Dinobirds, and a major battle is coming to determine the future of the world. This sci-fi action thriller has it all, suspense, drama, and a little romance. Look for it soon!

How about you?

If you’re an author, what are you working on? And which story looks interesting to you? Let us know in the comments below.

27 thoughts on “Authors Answer 74 – What We Are Working On Now”

  1. Greg — You lost me at “wolfhound.” Too bad, because if the mentor character was, say, a corgi or a beagle, I’d definitely be interested. (By the way, ‘dogkind’ is one word, like ‘humankind.’ *evil editor grin*)

    Anthe — Your story sounds too scary for me. I used to read a lot of books by Dean Koontz (before he annoyed me by taking so darn long getting around to writing the third Christopher Snow novel), but there’s a limit to how much horror I can handle, and a story set in a high school is right out!

    Elizabeth — According to a lot of people on Goodreads, “bodice-ripper in space” is exactly what a lot of readers want, especially female readers.

    Paul — “Investigative journalist”? Really? Kinda unrealistic, don’t you think?

  2. The best advice on the internet says Real Writers write in EVERY genre, not just the ones they enjoy, so I recently decided to get away from the narrow, unimaginative confines of science fiction/fantasy.

    First I tried to ease into a new genre: paranormal romance. Hey, it’s not THAT different from urban fantasy, right? I ran into trouble when my rutabaga protagonist actually showed signs of un-protagonist-like behavior such as thinking for herself and NOT falling head-over-roots in love with Mr. Badnews. (That’s the actual name of the love interest — a vampire, naturally — Jeremy Badnews.) So I dropped that WiP. Maybe I’ll go back to it later (when Alynnora Lenorre Rutabaga finally realizes Jeremy is totally right for her. Did I mention he’s a vampire?)

    Then I tried writing a YA dystopian novel. To force myself to branch out more, I decided that I would NOT attempt to explain how this dystopian setting came about. Readers don’t care about that stuff anyway, and thinking too much about worldbuilding is what got me into the bad habit of writing sci-fi in the first place. The important thing is that a group of teenagers decide one day that they’re tired of living under a totally repressive totalitarian regime, and they make a plan over lunch (they go to high school together, but the girls aren’t allowed to sit at the same tables as the boys because this is a dystopia) to overthrow the evil repressive government and stuff. And of course everyone is paired romantically off by the end of the book. But… I kept getting distracted by worldbuilding and other irrelevant details. So I had to drop this work-in-progress, too.

    That’s when I knew I had to go cold turkey and write something with NO similarity to sci-fi/fantasy whatsoever. So now I’m working on a Literary Novel, written in first person present tense, about a middle-aged man who used to teach high school art but is now a struggling novelist… It’s gonna be great!

  3. Reblogged this on and commented:
    Okay, I goofed by not sharing this on April 1st when it was originally posted, but you can still take a read through and chuckle at how some of the Authors Answer readers might have twitched in shock at supposed “current projects”. 😄

  4. All of these sound really interesting. And I totally agree with Mr Weaver about not getting yourself boxed into a genre corner. I just said something similar on TraceyLynn’s recent post. Here’s to genre-mashing!

    1. I’m all for mixing genres up a bit (one of my favorite authors wrote an interesting essay on it, which I will resist quoting from at this time), but I’d NEVER seriously recommend writing in a genre one doesn’t like to read. This was an April 1 post, after all.

      The genres I write in comprise the biggest “corner” imaginable. I’m not worried about getting boxed in.

      1. I find myself running out of ideas if I try to be “too traditional”… Also I agree there’s no point in trying to write in a genre or subject that you really don’t care for. Attempting new things is great…but be realistic in your ventures (at least, that’s me).

  5. My current WIPs (yes, plural – either from ADD or…well, probably ADD):

    A sort of romance slash speculative fiction. It started as a novella, then got cut down to a short story (because I didn’t like the original ending), now it’s back to being further developed as a novella.

    Also I’m attempting to complete several short stories for The Invisible Moth. These were either previous attempts at outlining an idea I had, and I decided to “flesh them out” more and unleash them on the unsuspecting public…er, I mean, share them with my readers. 😉

    And lastly, my WIP of the past several years, which is going to really determine itself what it “is”… My idea includes Greek and Celtic mythologies, paralell dimensions, and forbidden romance.

Leave a Reply

